Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Under siege – routine him belong me gone altogether buggerup!

We’ve got wild and stormy winds today* and I notice the cold is coming in quite briskly through one or two windows – notably the bathroom window (just behind the loo as it happens).  No surprise to wake up to a power cut today either.

Mandu, the little skinny cat is back from her holiday at the kennels, where, I’m told, she was quite happy and ate a lot.  No change there then and no change here now she’s back.  I still have to watch her like a hawk to make sure she doesn’t forget herself and make unwelcome deposits.  Not to mention picking her up every five minutes and putting her up on the feeding shelf in case she’s too weak with hunger to get herself up there!

And, it being the frozen festive season, Barney is at home.  Has been for, ooh, about ten days now.  This is, of course, very nice.  Maybe a trifle disruptive?  Just a little trifle?

I think I’m going to make some coffee now.  That’ll help keep me calm.  And alert.  And on the ball.  And ready for his next foray into the kitchen.  Which will be to do with NYE.

The party, as usual, has invited itself and we need to be making a bit of stuff for people to eat.  Namely, cassoulet, curry, meatballs, rice, potatoes and trimmings.  And the house might get cleaned a bit (though at least I won’t have to do any washing up since I have an unlimited supply of clean dishes at my disposal)  And I do need to work out who wants to stay the night and where they might be sleeping.  (Eldest tells me the blow-up bed deflates during the night – this could be a problem!)

Meanwhile, my cold is going its second round.  Barney told me it would and naturally, I assumed that being a woman and one with a thoroughly unhealthy lifestyle at that and also being just generally hardy and resilient, it wouldn’t dare return to me.  But it seems to be doing so in spite of all that.  My diaphragm aches with night-long coughing – which of course I deserve since I haven’t stopped smoking while I was snuffling and I have a sore throat!  (Damned cheek all the same!)

So in preparation for all the forthcoming excitement, I went out with the camera on what may turn out to be the last sunny, frosty morning for a while.

I’m quite glad I did.

I can’t thinkwho the idiot was that left – er – my car parked there!

Going to bed with cough medicine now.

Sleep well 🙂

*Did I mention rain?  Bucketsful!

December 29, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments