Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Space, time (quite a lot of it ago) and power

Not only had I put the letter from SEB up on the notice board, I’d put the date in my calendar.  June 18th.  Power Cut!

So it’s a shame I didn’t look at the calendar last night because by the time I’d got round to realising there was no power this morning, it was too late to have a shower.  And without a hairdryer there’s not much you can do about sticky up sideways hair with flat bits on the side.

So I didn’t go out today.  Furthermore, I still have several hours of backing up to do and still can’t look at baby pics or circus pics or any other pics for that matter.

But that was fine, as tomorrow,Youngest’s ex-partner will be bringing round all her stuff.  I offered to come and collect it and he said,”I don’t think it will fit in Barney’s pick-up”.

Oh

So I trotted up to the top room and began to empty cupboards.

Thing is, when three children lived here, we turned the attic into bedrooms and stored our things in sloping eave cupboards.  When they left, we moved our stuff into the rooms and their stuff into the cupboards.  Clothes, nintendo games and boxes and boxes of nintendo cartridge thingies, super nintendo games and boxes etc, books, clothes, books, GSCE reference books and old school papers, books, nintendo booklets, boxes for old electronic stuff, monitors, keyboards, clothes, books, toys, cuddly toys, bits of bike, cuddly toys, old lamps – have I won a prize yet?  Well there was also a box of crockery, which I didn’t feel we needed cluttering up the kitchen but to which Barney may have sentimental attachment, and a lot of my old silk shirts, which I thought I’d thrown out, and some ancient photos in an even more ancient suitcase (incredibly heavy) which I haven’t yet got round to looking at – that will be fun.

Right, now have I won a prize?  Did I mention the cuddly toys?  And the clothes?  Books?

There was also quite a lot of sticky, rusty, greasy and otherwise undesirable stuff.  And junk.  and rubbish.  So I trotted up and downstairs with bags and boxes and after a while I trudged and later still, I wobbled and finally collapsed in a heap at the bottom of the stairs, surrounded by mounds of rubbish.  Phew!

Then I went back up to the top room and spent a couple of hours, more or less, on my knees, pushing boxes and bags into spaces that were smaller than required.  Eventually, there was more space than there had been before I started and my knees hurt.  Surely I must have won a prize by now?

And Barney came home and we loaded all the junk into the pickup and he went off to the dump – always a satisfying expedition.

It’s still a bit worrying though.  Half a pickup load of junk has gone and quite a lot of stuff has been compressed but how much more have we got to fit back in.  I just hope Ex is, like many people, quite without my special understanding of how stuff will fit into spaces with a smaller volume than that of the stuff.  In fact I really hope he’s an absolutely rubbish packer and sorter!  Well I’m just going to investigate the garage in case he’s right about the amount of stuff.

Did that.

Hmm.

The power came back.  That was nice.

Next day I discovered that one of my carefully hoarded, back-up hard drives wasn’t big enough for the backup and one of the disadvantages of virtual things is that you can’t really push them around into different positions so they’ll fit into smaller spaces.  (Because, I suppose, 50 gig always takes up 50 gigs’ worth of space even if you turn it on its side)

After much thought and peering at properties I realised that the new camera makes files which are nearly twice as big as those that the old one made.  I suppose it’s got more pixels (when I was choosing the camera I didn’t really think about pixels beyond noting in reviews that there seemed to be a satisfactory amount of them.  I certainly didn’t think about gigs.  Or terrabytes).

Then the new hard drives dropped off the computer screen, one by one.  More deep thought and suspicion of the USB hub and lots of plugging and replugging and occasionally “safely removing devices”, but often, just unplugging them.  The mouse still worked though, so surely the hub was ok?  Later the mouse stopped working.  (But that was a flat battery.)  Anyway, eventually I unplugged everything and then plugged it all back in.  It seems to work now so I can start backing up again.  Isn’t that nice.  And I’ve got a new, bigger, hard drive so there will be plenty of space for the moment.

Finally, on power, I was looking for a cheap battery for the camera and on finding one, was told that if I spent one more penny (one can’t help briefly thinking about toilets), I would qualify for free delivery.  I quickly glanced through the seller’s other items and discovered, for the princely sum of £8.99, a

Mini USB Flash Disk Hidden Camera Mini DVR with Motion Activated Wholesale.

?

Coo, I thought, Isn’t that nice, what is it?♠  So I looked at the description.

Features: 1.New and high quality 2.For a safely meaning like business negotiation and contract signing 3.High quality monitor, protect personal privacy data and information confidential. 4.Fit for hotel/restaurant/public toilet/changing room, etc. 5.Have a long working time…….

You’ve just got to wonder about these meaning like business negotiations in public toilets.  Or maybe I did because of the penny spending.

I think I’ll pay the postage.

Meanwhile, there are things that require no batteries or other power and work beautifully all by themselves as long as they get fed regularly (and etc but I needn’t bother about that just yet)

P1040660-CS5

Don’t take up much space either but time will change that.

♠Was that Flanders and Swann?

 

 

 

 

 

June 28, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

11 Comments »

  1. Well, I feel a little better already! The funny thing about having a good clear-out is that the remaining stuff just lets out its breath and flows into the newly created space.At least, mine does!
    I have no idea how many bits, bytes or bongos my camera uses, but I am considering clearing out the Important Financial Files on the big external drive and using it for all the photo stuff.RAW gobbles up so much space…

    Comment by dinahmow | June 28, 2014 | Reply

  2. My trips to the dump are never “satisfying” as the privatised staff make me feel like Keith Richards going through customs.
    The pixel thing is getting a bit bloated, like Microsoft Word, as I’m sure 6 or 7 mp is perfectly adequate unless you want to photograph Minister’s briefs from the other side of Downing Street.
    Accumulations of “stuff” is a difficult tide to turn back – it took me 6 months to empty a double garage this year and a lot of blood , sweat and tears and humiliating friskings at the dump.
    You are very accommodating and saintly to look after exes……….

    Comment by Rog | June 29, 2014 | Reply

  3. Talk about life changing events and things happening as they’re suppose to…… Lucky for you the knees didn’t give out before there was the pile to go!
    I could tell you the woes I have when I try to have a good ‘clear out’. You could probably guess that he-who-keeps-everything is following me around hauling stuff out as I put stuff in.
    *sigh* Small piles DO manage to go to the trash bin. (and sometimes large ones if he’s not home LOL) But what we really need…….is a good clean out. We have a small home. I don’t want some circumstance driving the need for the clear out–OH….maybe if I put it to himself that way I could watch his head spin trying to ‘figure out what I’m not telling him’. LOL THAT’D be good fun AND I’d get some stuff tossed out at the same time!
    k……that’s just mean and I won’t do it, but THAT’S how much I want to get STUFF cleared out of this house! LOL

    Comment by Mel | June 29, 2014 | Reply

  4. Erm some of that junk might be worth quite a lot (like the games consoles) I hope they survived

    Comment by Eldest | June 30, 2014 | Reply

  5. My remaining stuff is breathing a lot Di. And so are my raw files.

    Oh but I do want to Rog – my life will not be complete without a multi-million pixel pic of the PMs briefs. And yes, indeed I am both accommodating and saintly. Thank you for mentioning it.

    I must be fair Mel, I am responsible for a lot of the stuff that we still have. I am very grateful that no-one was following me around on this occasion.

    It’s ok Eldest. I’m fairly sure that one, if not both, consoles and a lot of cassettes are safely stashed away. Suggest you get them out and put them on ebay asap though. Or maybe we could take them to Antiques Road show. Better wash the coca cola and cake off them first because they were stored for quite a long time with your mostly nearly empty coke can collection.

    Comment by Mig | July 2, 2014 | Reply

    • Just stopping in to let ya know I was thinking about you….LOL….happens once in a while!! 😉

      Comment by Mel | November 23, 2014 | Reply

      • Dear Mel, me too, the same. xxx

        Comment by Mig | November 27, 2014

  6. David Cameron’s undies? Ewwww!

    Comment by dinahmow | July 4, 2014 | Reply

  7. I never manage to clear out as much stuff as I want to. Owl is forever saying to me ‘can we do a tip run this weekend?’ But getting the stuff sorted ready for the tip run is another thing. It always feels good though once we have cleared stuff. We neither of us will ever manage to be minimalists.

    Comment by ladyinredagain | July 16, 2014 | Reply

  8. We all have our little oddities Di.

    I fine there’s always a couple of rooms that I couldn’t face Ladyinred, and in each room a few boxes or drawers of random stuff that I can’t find a proper place for.

    Comment by Mig | July 16, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes it is those items that don’t have a natural home that are the worst and I find myself moving them from room t room corner to corner. Sometime it would be easier to just throw them out but of course that won’t happen.

      Comment by ladyinredagain | July 18, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

