Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Elastoplast

Over the many years, I have made many holes in my skin and have used many products with which to plug the holes.  Elastoplast is still the reliable  one.  Ok, it leaves a sticky gunk round the edges of where it’s stuck and the bit in the middle which you’re protecting goes white and wrinkled but at least it stays there through thick and wet and thin and muddy and overnight and until you get home and so on.

Also, over the years they have developed waterproof plasters and special healing plasters and all sorts and lately (my word, it took them a long time), amazingly useful, long  thin finger-plasters.

Now it seems to me that fingers are constantly involved with sharp and hot and otherwise damaging edges and places and also spend an enormous amount of time in and out of water.  And since Elastoplast have now invented both waterproof plasters and finger-plasters it shouldn’t be beyond them to see a crying need and put the two together?

I think I’m going to email them.

Right.  I’ve done that.

DSC_3003-CS52

Cowparsley.  Wantage somewhere down there.

Now I must sort out some washing – using a waterproof plaster which doesn’t fit as well as a finger plaster but who knows, as soon as they get my email they may begin the revolutionary new waterproof finger plaster design.  How long will it be before the new plasters arrive on the shelves I wonder?

June 22, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

10 Comments »

  1. I find thumbs are the tricky ones. For a really good gash I lop fingers off cotton gloves for the dressing and a rubber glove finger for the finish.Held on with masking tape sometimes. Tres elegante, me! 🙂

    Comment by dinahmow | June 22, 2013 | Reply

  2. Crikey, you two are a danger to yourselves!

    Comment by Z | June 22, 2013 | Reply

  3. funny how in hospitals they never use plasters … I wonder why?
    They use tape and bits of cotton wool or dressing, it isn’t waterproof but it does leave a residue that takes monumental effort to remove, washing the blood off would be easier. Perhaps the tape they use has some anti-allergy property that plasters don’t. Could you send a ps email to elasterplast perhaps mentioning they could make it hyperallergenic while they’re at it?

    Comment by Linda | June 23, 2013 | Reply

    • I’ve used(demanded) micropore tape since it came on the shelf. And nowadays, blood bank does too.It’s something in the “glue” of plasters that causes a rash.For me, OK on tough skin, but sheer hell on the soft inner elbow.

      Comment by dinahmow | June 25, 2013 | Reply

  4. I hope they give you a slice of the action.

    Cow Parsley is lovely.

    Comment by Rog | June 23, 2013 | Reply

  5. WOW what a view. 🙂
    And wow–get that cut of the action (no pun intended) when they make a bazillion from your suggestion.
    Personally, I like the Snoopy Bandaids. :-/
    No REAL injury is required to wear one, don’tchaknow. k…so they’re not practical and they slip slide off when you get sweaty–but they’re dang cute!

    Comment by Mel | June 23, 2013 | Reply

  6. Hello. Just popped over here from Norfolk ‘n Good.
    My Dad had a nasty thumb accident recently (gruesome pic here) and found the perfect solution for the absence of a waterproof digit-protector: he sat in his chair looking sorrowful and said there was no possible way he could do any washing up for weeks.

    Comment by Clare Kirwan | June 23, 2013 | Reply

  7. I have a cupboard full of Dora, Snoopy and Pooh Bear Bandaids for those moments when a kiss-it-better is not quite enough. Personally I like to hack up Elastoplast to fit my injuries but I do think the finger sized ones would also be good for stubbed toes.
    I suppose it’s better if Di lops off bits of cotton gloves rather than her finger tips, and a “really good gash” makes a great mental picture. Go, Di! And be careful, Mig!

    Comment by Carol | June 24, 2013 | Reply

  8. It’s a thumb that’s giving me plaster trouble now Dinahmow. But I haven’t got any cotton gloves to lop.

    Yes Z. But ready with instant self help.

    Like for blood tests Linda. You always have to go home with a great big lump of cotton wool and spend ages peeling off the sticky. Maddening! I shall send the ps at once.

    I hope so too Rog but not very confidently. Cow parsley – the froth on Summer hedges.

    I think I’d settle for the no injury part Mel. But a bit of cuteness wouldn’t hurt I suppose.

    I used to hack up Elastoplast Carol before they made it long and thin. Toes! Hmm.

    Comment by Mig | June 25, 2013 | Reply

  9. Hi Clare, nice to see you. I like your Dad’s idea but actually, having looked at the gruesome picture I think he was right.

    Comment by Mig | June 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

