Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

From Great Haywood to Brewood.

That’s pronounced Brewed.  So why not spell it like that?

Ok, so tonight  the iphone isn’t offering me a connection. I know it’s done it before but now the netbook can’t find it.  We’ve travelled a few miles and done six locks.  Barney did one on his own and very smoothly too.  However, the paddle gear was in very good condition (easy to wind up and not a strain on the elbows or back) and I did quite a few myself – well nearly by myself.  Actually at the first one there was a couple following us so they came and helped with the lock rather than waiting and doing nothing.  At the next one, there was a boat going the other way so we helped each other  and at the one after that, there was a couple with two Japanese students in tow who were very keen to wind paddles up and open and shut lock gates so that the students could take photos of them.  After a bit, I offered to use the Japanese girls’ camera to take a photo of them, beaming delightedly.  Then there was a couple with a picnic who were very keen to help and chat and to tell me all about their canal holidays.  And that leaves one.  Which I did.

Ooh!  Today I have internet.  And would you believe, two days of sunshine?  Amazing.   All the locks have been easy so far but we’ve just turned onto the Shropshire Union Canal so they may be harder to manage.  Barney may yet have to do it all by himself.

Oops, all my batteries are about to run out.  Phone and Netbook – I’d better vanish and charge them.

February 17, 2013 Posted by | Uncategorized | 4 Comments