Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Pond hunting

I keeping opening the new post box and looking at it for a while and then shutting it again.  Well, really!  What a wuss.

So here I am, writing SFA about starting a new post (I think you might call this bloggers’ block?).  Later I might delete this bit.

I have been feeling very slightly dizzy from time to time.  Since I had labyrinthitis (something weird in the ears that makes you dizzy*) a couple of years ago and was unable to walk anywhere for a week without support (usually Barney – he’s never done so much shopping in his life before or since) and was warned at the time that it tended to recur, I suspect that it’s trying to do so.  Of course it might be half a dozen other, much more alarming things but I don’t want to know if it is and anyway, the simplest explanation that fits most of the facts etc etc.  As far as I know I haven’t had any viruses  (virii?) which might have triggered it but then I hadn’t last time either so that doesn’t mean much.

Anyway, I’ve tried to drink less and sleep more.  And I’ve attacked the wax in my ears with something oily and dribbly (irritating stuff however useful it is).   It’s not getting any worse – maybe even a bit better.  When I last had it, they gave me sea-sickness tablets (essential I promise you) and told me that a side effect might be not sleeping well.  I can’t help but notice that there’s been a bit of not sleeping well going on concurrently with the present dizziness – of course it could be a cause or it cold be completely coincidental.  But also I can’t help wondering if people taking sea-sickness tablets for labyrinthitis  might have reported sleep difficulties, not realising that the sleep was already disturbed before they started taking the tablets – it’s not particularly soporific feeling the world swinging round as you lie there and it’s definitely not relaxing opening your eyes and finding that the sensation (still) isn’t imaginary.    Thankfully I’m not at that stage – just getting a faint sense of having turned further than I intended from time to time and occasionally misjudging the distances round doors and cupboards.  Making sure I’m firmly seated before leaning down to tie shoelaces (I have been made aware that it looks funny if you fall on your nose when reaching down to do up your shoes but I’m not enough of a clown to be prepared to do it again).

Anyway, since I’m not incapacitated I did an early(ish) morning walk yesterday as the Beeb weather site had promised me sunshine and possiblyfrost and I’d found a new pond on google maps.  The map showed a track nearby but no signs of footpaths leading past it so I took my walking stick.  This is a wonderful thing, made by Barney when he was in his wood turning and stick making phase, and has a nice handle for hitching brambles out of the way and is tremendously helpful when you’re walking along a muddy rutted track, not paying the slightest attention to where your feet are going** – like having an extra leg with a third eye on the end of it.  And it’s a great help when scrambling over broken barbed wire fences and under growth, especially if  you aren’t completely confident about staying upright.  It’s also a thing of beauty, made of Yew wood and having a lovely reddish-golden colour and creamy markings on the elegantly shaped handle and even a few whorls and knobbles to give it character.

The pond, when I found it, was predictably enclosed within a depressingly well maintained and sturdy wire and post fence but there was a fallen tree which made it possible to climb over.  Quite a nice pond – almost a small lake in fact – but not in itself worth another visit.  But there was a deer path through bracken and birch saplings and a splendid half-hidden tree.

I’m not a very good person to walk with.  I don’t walk very fast (something to do with smoking and various worn out parts) and I’m prone to stopping suddenly and reversing without warning, also to plunging down tiny paths and then changing my mind and coming back, also without warning.  In mid-conversation I’ll stop and say look at that hill/tree/cloud/church on the (distant) horizon, I wonder how we could get there by road.  Or just stop and look abstracted for several minutes as well as exhibiting all the previously mentioned behaviours.  I can happily spend an hour wandering backwards and forwards and round and round  a particularly interesting spot, taking dozens or hundreds of photos and trying dozens of different settings in case the one I started with wasn’t quite right.  Occasionally I try the view from hands and knees or sitting down (not as often as I used to – these days I have to be very sure that the ground level view will be worth all the groaning and creaking)  and I’m quite capable of abandoning the whole thing because the light has changed and there’s somewhere different to go.

This is probably the sort of place where you don’t want your companion to suddenly change direction muttering something about a deer path

And this is the sort of place where me and the dog used to get our feet and lead tangled up a lot since both of us were prone to suddenness and neither of us wanted to walk in the bracken and brambles

Pond

Fairy (or more likely, Goblin) tree trying to hide in plain sight

Even more Grimm Brothers in B&W

Oh good heavens – enough wittering.  Time to cook dinner.

*I was told by one doctor that it makes all the little hairs in your curly, fluid filled, bit of ear, fall over and by another that they go every which way without regard to the direction in which the fluid is swirling as you change orientation; whichever it is it confuses the brain.  Never difficult in my case.

**because it’s easy to miss gaps in the hedges and woods through which an elusive pond might be seen or even approached.

November 30, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Oh! Some people reckon I walk like that! I always thought that was normal.(If I’m on an exercise walk I walk fast and focussed, but country walks are always erratic and more fun)
    Sorry about your wobbles.

    Comment by dinahmow | November 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. I used to love to watch my Great Grandmother walk, and it sounds like you and she had the same brain, for she meandered, and back tracked and I like a puppy dog did circles around her and darted off and back.. whatever creates the pattern, it’s a magical thing to be sure..
    ~grin~( and I love the grimms in Black and white) I can just hear the spooky tale!)

    Comment by ☼Illuminary☼ | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  3. Those pictures a were definitely worth the effort. I have always meant to ask you whether you are a completely self taught photomagica or whether you had professional type lessons? ~ that’s not the back handed compliment it sounds!

    All that wobbling, v disconcerting but look on the bright side it’s free! Saves on wine and things … 🙂

    Comment by Zig | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  4. I think I could walk with you. I love all that pausing, looking, doubling back stuff. I also have labrynthitis now and then and take Stemetil for it. Very disconcerting, that feeling that the furniture is moving, and that any moment you could fall on your face. Whatever, it didn’t stop you taking magical photos!

    Comment by Carol | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  5. *laughing* Oh, Mig–for sure we could easily wander in the same places and pause, back track, plop down, struggle to get up and quite contentedly STAY down for a closeup of the pretty weeds and such.

    ‘Round this place it’s the “Oh look…a chicken!” moments. *laughing* You KNOW I have a wee bit of difficulty with the ‘FOCUS’ issue. Himself likens the Bug to me–or maybe it’s the other way ’round? Which is why we’re so good together, the Bug and I…..too many amazing things to see and touch and discover and play with–one cannot be bothered to think there’s truly an ‘end’ to the adventure!! 😀

    Now, given the circumstances, amazing walking stick or not (certainly a photo of that creation is warranted!), the photos that you snagged do NOT reflect the “oh look at chicken!!” process. Very well focused! LOL I adore them all. And I adore you!
    And now I wanna talk himself into a ‘get in the Jeep and go’ moment!
    *shrugs* I’ll blame you. LOLOL

    Feel better–and do the shoe laces from sitting down, please……

    Comment by Mel | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  6. That’s horrible, hope you get over it soon. I’ve only been badly affected once, but it takes over everything, doesn’t it? So peculiar, not being able to balance and everything swinging when you move.

    I’m not too good a walking companion myself, largely because I vanish into my own thoughts and am not very communicative. But I’m totally unobservant, so it’s quite useful to have someone about to point things out to me. Lovely photos as always.

    Comment by Z | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  7. Where were you all when I wanted company on my walks? All the walkers I know go much too fast and get in my views! And thank you, I am no longer wobbly.

    I never do excercise walks Dinahmow – I either run out of steam or into a view before any degree of exercise happens.

    I seem to remember being a bit of a problem when I was little Illuminary – wouldn’t stay close to the grown-ups and kept vanishing into the undergrowth.

    I did photography for two weeks at art College Zig. We spent most of one session looking for a minute piece of camera that we had dropped somewhere. I think there were three of us sharing one camera at a time – very unsatisfactory. I don’t think that quite qualifies as professional type lessons!

    I once went on holiday with seven other photographers Carol – ideal you’d think. But we all brought back a huge number of photos with photographers in them.

    I’d love to go for a walk with you and the Bug Mel. I’m sure we’d be falling over each other all the time but the chickens would make it worth while : ) Look forward to reading about a jeep adventure – I’m happy to be an excuse.

    Walking can be meditative Z and all the better for it. I generally prefer not to talk too much when I’m walking because I get out of breath.

    Comment by Mig | December 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

