Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

To much wool and too many parts.

I like natural fabrics and particularly the expensive ones like silk and cashmere (not that I ever buy them new) and it’s definitely the season for wool.  Unfortunately, cashmere and angora mixes do shed a lot and the light fluffy fibres do float about a bit and blow me if some doesn’t inevitably get in my mouth.  Pth!  When I see Nigella flashing her cashmere in the kitchen, I wince, not out of concern for the lovely woollie but at the thought of floating fluff in her soup.  On top of that, whenever I spend an afternoon with Little Middle, she loves hiding one or both of us under her (slightly smelly) comfort blanket so I end up sounding like an exasperated cat, thpitting and hithing crothly.  She finds this extremely funny.

I shan’t stop wearing them though because they are so warm and comfortable.  And of course I shan’t stop Little Middle hiding us under her blanket though I might suggest to her Mum that it’s due for a wash.

Anyway I’ve been distracted for the last couple of days by Pergolesi’s Concertino in G.  A pretty baroque piece which the Saturday Music group have been trying to play, on and off, for years but we’re always defeated by the fact that the printers chose to put four violin parts on two staves.  With some music (and some players) it’s perfectly feasible to single out one line from the interwoven pair but we have never been able to so I decided to write them out separately and actually, it hasn’t been easy to work out which notes belonged to which part even given time to study it note by note!  And Sibelius (no, the music programme, not the composer) is very helpful about choosing for you whether a note is going to be a higher or lower octave only Mr Pergolesi seems, almost invariably, to have chosen the opposite to that which Sibelius thinks it should be so I spent a lot of time moving notes up and down.  And Mr P also liked alternate notes dotted (staccato) so I couldn’t just select a whole row of notes and dot them all at once.  It’s a bit like using photoshop – it’s quite astonishing what clever things these programmes will do for you but it’s never exactly what you want!

See?  It’s quite complicated though very pretty.  Come to think of it, a pianist would probably have no problem.  Me, I have to stop and think before playing two notes at once, I’m always impressed by the way keyboard players can read two lines of music and play several notes at the same time with each hand and even do two pedals with their feet.  As for organists – I can’t believe they don’t have a Pratchett style imp hidden inside the machine to move the stops and all those other things they have to do.

Never mind, after three days of intensive brain and eye strain I’ve finally done it.  And amazingly all the parts ended in the same place.  I feel quite impressed with myself and I hope the group will be too!   There are one or two slight errors – mainly that halfway through it I inadvertently reversed the order of the Violin 2 parts and then I couldn’t work out how to put them back so half the second violins will suddenly find their part unexpectedly exciting while the other half get rather bored.  Actually I’ve just thought of a way I could do it but I’ve printed the parts now and I can’t be bothered.  At least, not till we’ve played it and found out how many other mistakes I’ve made – there are bound to be loads,  it’s amazing how many things there are that can get missed and misplaced, especially if you’re reading from something that makes you go cross-eyed in the first place.

Now I shall uncross my eyes, spit out some more wool and have a cup of tea.  And look at something easier.

 

 

 

(And in case you wondered, we did manage to play it all the way through and hardly got lost at all.  And it all worked.  I am so clever.)

November 13, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Well done, you! Give that woman a coconut! Me? Thpitting and hithing crothly. (and thwearing…)

    Comment by dinahmow | November 13, 2012 | Reply

  2. You certainly are clever – that’s very impressive. I felt breathless just reading about it. But your beautiful photos have calmed me now. Idyllic!

    Comment by Carol | November 13, 2012 | Reply

  3. Golly, you really are clever. And talented.

    Comment by Z | November 13, 2012 | Reply

  4. Thank you all. I ought to admit that really it’s just a matter of copying and persevering (and thwearing a bit) and Sibelius is easier to learn than Word if you read music.
    (But I’ll take the coconut Dinahmow.)

    Comment by Mig | November 13, 2012 | Reply

  5. Well, aren’t YOU just the clever and talented one.

    Now–if you can get the wubbie away from little middle without creating drama there’ll be NO room for doubt as to just how clever you are. *laughing* Good luck with that one!

    Comment by Mel | November 13, 2012 | Reply

  6. Would be nice to think so Mel : ) as for the blanket – not my problem, I just suggest to her Mum that it needs washing and hope it’s done when I’m not around.

    Comment by Mig | November 15, 2012 | Reply

  7. Jolly Impretthed! I’m off to youtube to listen to this…

    Comment by rosie | November 17, 2012 | Reply

  8. Did you find it rosie? I couldn’t but there was a nice violin concerto.

    Comment by Mig | November 17, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

