Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Assorted transport and devils.

Finally my car is coming back – any minute now.  Oh look, it’s coming into the drive as I write!  Yay!!

And I’ve rung Boots and my new computer/music distance specs are ready.

And the sun has come out.  It must be my lucky day or something.

~

Anyway, suddenly it’s about to be all  go!

The Magnificent Mr and Mrs Mills used to be reliable crew for us on the boat but they loved it so much that they decided to get a share of their own.  Not the same one as ours, sadly.  Anyway, Rodbaston has been moored at Anderton on the Trent and Mersey canal and last week, the canal was breached.  The contents of a fifteen mile pound were emptied into the River below through the breach – which is quite an impressive, even alarming, sight.  Luckily, they weren’t moored on the drained section but it will be closed for a very long time, until repairs are done.  So The boat is being moved to Macclesfield and suddenly Mr and Mrs M have to do a lot of locks in their week’s holiday.  Heart break hill in fact.  I wonder if my camera can do that time lapse thing!  (No.  Oh well)

Thing is, Mrs M isn’t keen on heavy locking (I’m in sympathy there) and she doesn’t love steering either (yep, me too, again).  So Barney and I are stepping into the breach – Oh,  a metaphorical breach, not the one in the canal, that would be silly.  No point in getting your feet wet.  Anyway it looks as though we’re getting an extra weekend on the cut,  yay!  There will be some serious logistics to consider though, where to leave cars – not only will we be leaving mid-trip and so will not not be where our car is parked, but also, the boat is being moved to its new mooring by a kind of relay system so Mr Mills will have to collect the current boater, deliver him to his car, park his own car and then be delivered back to the boat.  Or something like that.  I spent a happy hour making a beautiful diagram in full technicolour with arrows and stars and wavy lines showing how this could be done in such a way that we can all step off the boat into our cars at the end of our various times on board.  Then I wrote it out in numbered headings in black and white because I realised that men prefer black and white numbers to coloured wavy lines as a way of conveying information (shame).

Anyway, I left this work of art and logic (well, just the logic bit)  for Barney to peruse in the morning and he revealed that  I was missing a crucial bit of information* which means that everybody will have to use taxis to get to or from their cars and no sharing of transport will be possible.  Never mind.  I’d show you the wavy coloured lines and stars and arrows but I inadvertently deleted it without saving it.

Now I have to go and mash some potatoes.  I’ll leave you with a quick trip to look at white horses. The weather was uncertain so I only got as far as Pewsey and the horse really needed to be seen from further away but the peculiar light sort of made up for it.

And it’s always nice to see spindleberries

and familiar hill tops from a different angle

And then I stopped on the way home from Grandbaby minding because of more peculiar light.  Cars kept driving into my view but I found more spindleberries and made the best of it.

They are so deliciously vulgar.  Proper teenage girl plants, in your face and pink and orange

*Never ask me to make detailed and complicated plans after the third glass of wine unless you’ve made sure that all the details (and devils in them**) are firmly in my head before I started drinking.

**One day I must find about about that quote.***

***”The devil is in the details”.  I looked it up.  Clearly it’s a modern, ironic misquote of the original, slightly pious and worthy expression “God is in the detail”.  However I can’t find out who did it!  Any one know?  It sounds like an engineer or an architect**** to me but I can’t think where or when I first heard it.

****or a poet or songwriter

October 4, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. It’s all happening Chez Mig! And still you have time to take fabulous photos.

    Comment by Liz | October 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oh wow that looks like major damage for the canal. What a fine mess…….

    And that time lapse–made me tired! OH my gosh–you’ve got to warp to the next lock and keep going? And there’s no hitchhikers allowed?! What’s up with that…….

    I think it’s kinda cool to go on the journey with the kiddos–and have you do the work……LOLOL What a smart pair, those two! 😉

    Comment by Mel | October 5, 2012 | Reply

  3. I came across spindleberries for the first time last year and had to pick a sprig to bring home and look them up. How can I be this old and not know a spindleberry?

    Looking up info about that breach nearly got Barney engaged with the internet, didn’t it? He had to back away quite carefully.

    Comment by Z | October 6, 2012 | Reply

  4. I don’t often say things like OMG, but OMG! that canal breach sequence had me holding my breath!

    Comment by Tim | October 6, 2012 | Reply

  5. Ouch! That will take some time to fix. But you lucky people get to go a-locking.

    Comment by dinahmow | October 7, 2012 | Reply

  6. When I got my car back Liz, I felt a need to go adventuring just to make sure it worked properly. After all, I’d been without it for all of twelve days!

    It’s quite scary Mel. As for the weekend, I’m hoping Steve and Barney will do the work while Wendy and I make tea. And if it doesn’t rain a lot I may feel it necessary to sit in the front with the camera to watch out for further breaches. (course, if it does rain a lot some bright spark may think I ought to do that anyway with an umbrella)

    I first met them in Devon when I was a teenager Z and I couldn’t believe they were real. I’m still amazed to see them, they’re not very common and it’s hard to believe they’re a native plant. I’d quite like one but apparently they’re host to a bean and potato aphid and I wouldn’t want my neighbour’s garden infested since we get beans from them regularly.

    Yes I said that Tim. The amazing technical skills of canal engineers are one thing but suddenly I’m more interested in the maintenance skills of British Waterways blokes.

    A year or two Dinahmow. I’m looking forward to the locking though. Well the watching of the locking anyway.

    Comment by Mig | October 7, 2012 | Reply

  7. the plant you called spindle bush looks like Euonymus americanus (Strawberry bush), and I have a woods full of them! and proper teenage girls is the PERFECT description of them! ( having a teenage girl at home~laughing~)And the poor devil that got stuck with the details is the one I feel sorry for, no matter how many glasses of wine she had! *wink*

    Comment by ☼Illuminary☼ | October 7, 2012 | Reply

  8. I know that, for years, people have wondered about the origin of the “devilish” saying.And apparently,it’s still a mystery! But it’s the sort of thing that “some bloke in the pub” is likely to expound on, isn’t it! 😉

    Comment by dinahmow | October 7, 2012 | Reply

  9. Well the end plan has less detail Illuminary so that’s a plus. It is Euonymus and It was called Spindle berry because the wood is very hard and was used for spindles! I’m not sure if that’s spinning spindles or wheel spindles though.

    I must get Barney to ask at the pub Dinahmow. Come to think of it, I haven’t asked him, he’s a fount of unlikely information – something to do with all that time spent at the pub perhaps.

    Comment by Mig | October 8, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

