Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Last night.

This morning we had a half hour of torrential rain and continuous thunder and lightning. Quite weird, I’ve never seen that before. B&S in law have gone and there’s just us peacefully preparing for bed while ducks and geese and night birds chirp and quack and squawk around us. I ache all over after cleaning some of the boat and packing some of our stuff. It’s a perfectly gorgeous night. Sleep well – I will – and tomorrow I’ll tell you about our next door moorings and stuff.

20120628-225140.jpg
I added a photo. I’ve no idea what it looks like – or even when / where it was taken. Hope it’s nice.
Oh, forgot to say, thank you for comments. Whatever I do I seem to have to log in all over against to reply – it’s just too late and everything to start over tonight. Xxx all. I think I’m slightly but not seriously broken and yes it’s much Nicer on top in the sun and the bridge was pretty stunning and Liz, don’t be put off -canal holidays are a little bit of hard earned heaven on earth. I can’t tell you (without heaps of typos ) how absolutely brilliant it is. Especially after a large amount of wine.

June 28, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. The storms are loud and strong this year…

    Greetings from Minneapolis!

    Pearl

    Comment by Pearl | June 29, 2012 | Reply

  2. Looks brilliant! I absolutely loved my two weekends on narrow boats – the amazing relaxing qualities of chugging along at 2 mph, the serendipitious sights of cutting through cities and countryside like a geological slice sample, the frenetic activity at the locks, the sheer wonder at the skill and ingenuity of the 18th and 19th Century Canal builders…

    Still, 3 days with a chemical toilet is tops for me.

    Comment by Rog | June 29, 2012 | Reply

  3. Oh to have a go at the narrow boat thing…..closest I’ve come is a ‘houseboat’ on a lake, which isn’t even close.

    I’m always amazed at the lock deal and how that works. I’m also amazed that people take turns and play nice….or so it seems.
    Mostly I’m blown away with the quiet places that you get to see and photograph (when time allows) along the waterway. Our smaller rivers are too primitive, I guess…..and our larger ones have too much traffic (seemingly).

    I’m just glad that you’re (hopefully) not seriously broken. And I’m glad for that quiet night’s rest in a half cleared narrowboat. 😉

    Comment by Mel | June 29, 2012 | Reply

  4. I should have said, it’s an iPhoto Rog. And yes the toilet is a matter of concern. Though they have improved enormously since the days when we first went out on canals. As has the pump out machinery.

    You do have one or two canals Mel – Ontario? Conneticut? I’ll look them up – Oh Ohio and somewhere. I think they’re quite big though. Oh look! Hundreds!

    Comment by letouttoplay | June 29, 2012 | Reply

  5. Hi Pearl, thanks for dropping in. Nothing like a good storm.

    Comment by letouttoplay | June 29, 2012 | Reply

  6. Eloise and Paul went with friends for narrow boat holidays between Christmas and New Year two or three times before they had babies. They loved it.
    Even a little bit broken is not nice. I hope you’re better soon.

    Comment by Z | June 30, 2012 | Reply

  7. Thank you Z. I would love some of our children to come with us – grandchildren even – but they seem to remember rain and bickering from when they were little and came with us. Probably it was an error to take them!
    (Seeing the doctor today)

    Comment by Mig | July 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

