Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Bags and boats. And rain of course.

We’ve been checking the weather forecast somewhat obsessively and it’s not looking good.  Next time we get the opportunity to book weeks on the boat I think we should go for May.  Or March – was it March when we had a couple of weeks of nice weather?  Perhaps late October would be a good bet.

Anyway checking five days at a time is a fairly pointless excercise since we’ll be away for longer than that.  Of course I’ll have the iPhone this time.  On the other hand there’s something about narrowboats and canals which defies signal.  They’re good places to hide, electronically speaking, though by the same token I suppose not much good for terrorists.

Anyway, it’s time to start frantic packing and shopping.  I ought to be good at that by now but I’m already faffing hopelessly all over the place.  It suddenly occurs to me that I will have to pack for Barney too – and carry it all down! Oops.  Small bags will be a good idea.

I’d better go and look for bags.

Some friends of ours have just moved to a place which is only a few miles away and in spite of having scoured the countryside for miles around with the camera, I never knew this road existed.  Lovely!

And on the way there I went past the pond at Burnt Hill

Nothing like a pond in summer (it is summer isn’t it?)

One of the things I have failed to do sensibly in time, is to organise cat feeding.  The neighbours will be away for a part of the time when we are and I trotted up the road to see if next door but eight could do it and their house was suspiciously quiet and padlocked. Well I’m sure someone will do it for us.

As I passed the neighbours in between I noticed that there are eggs for sale outside one of the houses.  It’s a bit bad that I haven’t got to know any one between Two and Seven but perhaps I can buy eggs some time and get to know number 4 that way.  Meanwhile, I gave the cat her chicken (Galinha/Kyckling/Kylling/Kanaa/Huhn/Poulet/kip/Pollo/κοτόπουλο) pouch.  I wonder if she’ll live long enough for me to learn the names of eight different kinds of meat and fish in nine languages.

Got to finish packing and sort out some updates.

Have a lovely time while I’m away.

June 14, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Oh wow……welcome to the twilight zone…..LOL

    Seriously though–isn’t it too fun to discover something that you didn’t know was in your own back yard?! HOW cool is that? I’m excited for you. I’ve stumbled into something that I didn’t know existed–not down the corner, but in the county….and it’s awesome–right on the river that folks float all the time and I didn’t know was there!
    Which reminds me–I discovered it last fall! I need to see what summertime at that little place looks like. I’ll bet it’s just as beautiful.
    And the eagles hang out there!

    OH! I can feel an adventure on the horizon!!

    I love the tree shots. And the little pond–ohmygosh…what a gorgeous place!!

    Comment by Mel | June 15, 2012 | Reply

  2. I have 4 weeks in which to sort out the packing for our next holiday and as I am not currently working, I will have no excuse for being disorganised. I will probably still do it all the night before as usual though.

    Comment by Liz | June 15, 2012 | Reply

  3. Before you go can you resolve an argument and tell us who the lady under the “Is this Me” caption is.
    Thanks in anticipation!

    Comment by Rog | June 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. Funny, I thought the last thing I did on Friday morning was to reply here. O well.

    Looking forward to seeing Summer eagles Mel.

    Even with months to plan I always do it at the last minute Liz. But these days I have a series of lists on the computer, adapted for different kinds of holiday. No point in taking the camping cooker on the boat. You’d think that would make it all simpler?

    I don’t know Rog. Some strange woman lurking around wherever I go. She could do with a haircut too.

    Comment by letouttoplay | June 16, 2012 | Reply

  5. why is wordpress eating my comments? Grrr?
    So All I was going to say is Have a wonderful trip! Enjoy the weather whatever the weather, and looking forward to water photo’s! have a grand time!

    Comment by ☼Illuminary☼ | June 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

