Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Wild weekend

Just back from my very first mass blog meet.  What a limp way to describe Z’s fabulous party though.

Well I don’t know.  What was best?

Meeting lovely Z herself, obviously and the delightful Sage, full of surprises (chicken whisperer* to start with but also conjuring up beautiful little historical items to enchant at any and every odd moment).

Meeting people I’ve only ‘spoken to’ online and finding that they’re just as clever, funny and likable in real life as I thought they were.

Meeting the spouses and partners and finding them also to be absolutely lovely.

Hearing Christopher on the phone.  Hmm.  Not quite as good as meeting him would have been.  But great anyway.

Meeting the family who were all charming and friendly or small and charming.  Seeing the lovely house and the Wall and the glimpses of Sage’s hoards (Wow!)

Finding that Tim is a totally unscary driver and is another smoker (Yay!) and very good company on what could have seemed like a very long drive. (especially as he was driving)**

Wonderful curries (and risotto) and breakfasts and coffee.  (These things are important)

Z, you’re a darling and I’m so happy to have met you.  Big hugs.  Wink , you’re a darling too.xxx  Tim, thank you. xxx.

Enough of this soppy stuff.  You’re all lovely and now I’m going to go and visit lots of blogs I haven’t met before.

Oh and for those who were kind enough to inquire, Barney was well looked after and yet, amazingly, quite pleased to see me back.  And he thanks those who asked after him.  (Well, ok, he sort of grinned and looked baffled).

I spent a bit of time this afternoon at the pub, trying to explain to people at the pub why blogging is good and what is a blog party.  Unfortunately, after several glasses of wine all I came up with was a big, idiotic grin and such comments as “it’s great” and “people are so nice”.

A Chicken moment.

A five o’clock in the morning moment.  (well I did have lot to drink the night before)

Obviously I’m descending into a happy, slightly glazed state where all that I can add will be nonsense so I’ll stop now.   Um. I’ve just deleted several quite excessive and inappropriate endings.  Sleep well.

*That’s actually a link to Rog’s blog where he show the whispering in progress and also a photo of me, open mouthed and out of it but fortunately eclipsed  by the chicken which is much more interesting.***

**Oh no!  I didn’t mean his driving would have made it seem like a long journey, just that if you’re used to driving yourself, it can be more stressful being driven.  And it wasn’t.  Am I digging myself into a hole here?  Just assume the best, ok.

***Oh idiot – I meant tickling of course.  Nothing to do with horses.  Or trout for that matter.

Edit: And PUDDINGS!  How could I forget the marvelousness of the puddings?

May 27, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. It was a joy, having you to stay, and thank you so much for all the work you did too.

    Comment by Z | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. It’s difficult to explain isn’t it? Blogging should be a sad, sad way to spend one’s time: locked in a room, writing about life, the universe and everything.

    But it’s not. It’s fun, sociable and a fabulous way to make friends and meet people you’d never have a hope in hell in meeting in your day to day life.

    That’s what I tried to explain it to Lawrence on the way over, and he still gave me a look. But he had a lovely time anyway.

    It was lovely to meet you.
    xxx

    Comment by Roses | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. Oh yeah! Let’s hear it for us smokers. I was very pleased to meet both your self and Tim – last year, I was a Billy -No-Mates.

    Comment by Sir Bruin | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  4. I think I might just put up a link to everyone else’s descriptions, you’ve all got there before I’ve had a moment to compose myself, and have all written much better accounts than I could!

    Comment by Blue Witch | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  5. Mutual joy then Z and it was fun helping.

    Lovely to meet you too Roses. Yes, like a lot of things, the explanation doesn’t work without experience to base understanding on. Actually I was just trying to think of an experience you can explain to someone whose never tried it. There weren’t many. xxx too.

    Not that we smokers exclude ‘the others’ Sir Bruin – that would be unkind : ) Anyone who can put up with the fragrant cloud is welcome to join us. (And of course in Scotland during the midge season we’re a positive asset)

    Oh but yours would be different Blue Witch, don’t deprive us.

    Thank you all for dropping in – so nice to ‘see’ you here after seeing you for real : )

    Comment by letouttoplay | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  6. Awwwwwww…….I’m so happy for all of you. How fun! And how good that Barney was looked after and the critters left you surprises so you wouldn’t feel missed!

    Sounds like it was a lovely time.
    And no, those who don’t indulge just don’t get it.
    But those of us who do–do!
    Innit awesome?! 🙂 (as are the photos–all of them, though I’m particularly fond of the 5am one, if indeed it was 5am…and if not, I’m fond of it no matter the time! It’s a cool photo!!

    Comment by Mel | May 29, 2012 | Reply

  7. Ah yes, the old ” you met her how?” comments~!
    ~laughing~
    sounds like you had a great weekend!

    Comment by ☼Illuminary☼ | June 8, 2012 | Reply

  8. Was wonderful : )

    Comment by letouttoplay | June 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

