Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Slow, slower, got it! lost it! got it!

I am naturally slow.  It takes me a long time to think of what I’m going to say in a post for instance and an even longer time to actually say it.  It can take me hours to make three comments.  And it takes me weeks, nay months, to get round to booking a holiday.

In this case, 16 months.

Some time ago, I was sixty years old and we have a habit of going off on exotic holidays when either of us has a big birthday.  But actually, I had a yen to see Dubrovnik again (last seen when I was twenty odd and travelling with two friends to Greece.  On the same holiday, I spent an afternoon in Venice and on our 20th wedding anniversary, we went there for a whole weekend.  Fabulous!*)  So not exotic like Asia or Africa but very lovely all the same.

Anyway, for some reason we didn’t get round to my exotic  sixtieth holiday until late last year and eventually Barney said lets do it this Spring or we’ll never  do it at all.  So I’ve been studying the internet and Lonely Planet and all sorts and getting into exactly the same sort of state I always do when I have to plan a big event.  How to decide?  How to check out all the dire warnings from various sources of information?  How to take advantage of the best offers?  How does everyone else find such amazing deals?  I get more and more panicked and less and less able to press a ‘book now’ button or pick up the phone (which may well have an incomprehensible foreigner at the other end of it either waiting to fleece me or to help me to the holiday of our dreams – who can say?)

Anyway, I get grumpy and stressed and keep saying to myself “I can’t do this now”.  But eventually I remember that I have done it before and it did work and it was fun and it was OK!  Probably I can do it again alright?  So yesterday I picked up the phone and spoke to a perfectly clear and intelligible young woman who is going to send me an email, oh, any minute now?

Yes!  This morning there was a flurry of phone calls, changes of apartment and the computer got more and more hung-up until finally it stopped.  Meanwhile automated callers tried to tell us about HSB and RBS and Dick from Business Finder tried to convince us that they really are worth what we pay them (that was what finally broke the camels back) and Barbara from Completely Croatia tried to pin down our final choice of holiday (Husband not in charge, wife, who knows all, somewhere between Zagreb and Dubrovnik).

The computer restarted itself several times and showed me pages and black pages of incomprehensible computer-speak which seemed to amount to “something is wrong.  I’m trying to fix it.  I’ve fixed it.  Something is wrong.  I’m trying to fix it.  I’ve…. Something is wrong…Something is….Fix…Wrong…Fix…

………..Restart!”  I quickly shut it down before it had a complete breakdown.

I rang Mark, my computer treasure.  Some time later, Patrick rang back.

Patrick???

It seems Mark has emigrated back to New Zealand.  I was afraid he’d do that when he told me last year that he was separated from his wife.  I shall miss him. But Patrick sounds ok and after all, unless he stole it, having Mark’s phone number suggests that he’s a chosen and therefore adequate substitute.  He says he is : )

I’ve got no pictures today.  Getting the net book up and running and updating all its security and clock and Windows has taken hours (that wasn’t me this time being slow.  It wanted upgrades as well as updates.  Oh we’re so ‘up’ aren’t we!).  Anyway, moving the photo hard discs will have to wait for later.

Oops!  I’d better do something about dinner.

See you later.

*Except for the squid with black ink sauce and polenta.  Something very wrong about black food.

April 18, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. Okay, so the Holiday planning went well? but the Computer went south?
    ~laughing~
    feeling a bit slow here…

    Comment by ☼Illuminary☼ | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. Yes, the holiday planning took off and the computer crashed Illuminary. Very swings and roundabouts : )

    Comment by letouttoplay | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. I hear Berkshire is quite nice. No squid seethed in its own ink, as far as I know, and I’d lay off the black pudding and licorice, but otherwise I’m sure you could have a lovely time.

    Comment by Christopher Campbell-Howes | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  4. Oooeerggg, squid in its own ink. Very descriptive, funny post. I shall be fifty nine next week. You can send me a holiday if you like….

    Comment by rosie | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  5. squid are lovely 🙂

    Comment by Linda | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  6. I bet I could find seething black squid her if I really tried Christopher but I’m not going to. And black puding is dark pink inside and I love it. Squid ink is impenetrably black and wrong.

    Join us in Dubrovnik rosie. Unless you have a problem with steps – I believe we are going to perched on the city walls.

    Squid (without ink) are lovely Linda. Though not as lovely as scallops – which are a decent pink and white sort of thing.

    Comment by letouttoplay | April 19, 2012 | Reply

    • oh yes Scallops, bought some of those in M&S the otherday, sure this isn’t at all the correct way to go about aquiring them but they were nevertheless yummy and I now have two pretty shells to add to the clutter – what’s not to like?
      Squid I like to look at in the water changing colour and being altogether alien – eating them is similar to chewing elestic bands – ? – I think that was squid… it may indeed have been elastic bands.

      Comment by Linda | April 21, 2012 | Reply

      • I’ve been told that perfectly cooked squid is nothing like rubber bands Linda but that’s obviously just a gastronomic legend. You can’t go wrong with scallops.

        Comment by letouttoplay | April 22, 2012

  7. Ummm….. *shudder* ICK.

    Just…….ick….

    I think that applies to the computer problems too. Ick.

    However, the trip……sounds lovely!
    ‘Lovely’. Himself says that about food……mostly food I think is ICK.

    Darn computer…..darn glad you had a netbook lurking in another place!

    Seriously……squid with or without ink……ICK.

    Just sayin’….

    Comment by Mel | April 21, 2012 | Reply

  8. Never mind Mel. I shan’t be eating any.

    Comment by letouttoplay | April 22, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

