Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Marrons Glacé

Just wondering what you understand by this?

I thought marrons glacé came in a jar of syrup but when I asked for them in Waitrose the other day, I was given a box of candied chestnuts.  It’s a bit of a problem because Barney needs them for an excessively complex feast that Raymond Blanc inspired him to attempt on Boxing day.  (We’re going to Youngest’s for Christmas day).   Much was made of the lovely chestnut flavoured syrup on the TV programme*  but chestnuts preserved in syrup are not to be had in Newbury for love nor money.

I ventured back into Newbury, hoping to complete all the present shopping and most of the food.  Maybe I did?  At this time of year I spend a good bit of time not caring any more, but I think I did get most of it, except the Marrons and a free fix for my broken glasses.  Beyond repair they are and how can it take more than an hour to organise another pair when you don’t even need an eye test???  And what’s with the square glasses look anyway?  Why have they discontinued all the shapes I like?**

Oh well, seeing as how I am, er, how could they put it tactfully….. well, a bit old, I get a discount of 25% and until the new glasses are ready I’m doing quite well with my current ones which seem to balance quite happily on one ear and one nose.

All of which pales into insignificance before the arrival of Eldest and his beautiful Italian girlfriend today and the prospect of seeing Youngest and Mr Youngest and all the little Youngests on Christmas day and then being joined here by Mr and Mrs and Little Middle on Boxing day.  I shall revel, bask and wallow in all this filial company (um, I’m not sure about filial?  I mean the company of our children.  Is that right?)  until they have completely exhausted me (won’t take long but by then I shan’t care, again).  Now I’m going to finish cleaning the kitchen and shorten a pair of trousers and maybe even wrap presents.  Actually, after five hours of Eldest and BIG’s*** company I’m already exhausted and simultaneously feel about twenty years younger.  And I don’t care : )

Happy Christmas.

*Never mind the effect of TV violence on children – consider instead the disastrous effects on Christmas dinners all over the country caused by an addiction to Celebrity Chef programmes.

**I  wish young actresses would please not always wear the same style of  glasses as each other.  Wearing identical glasses does not a look-alike make and some people look better in round glasses or oval glasses or even octagonal glasses (my first pair, perfectly sweet) than square or rectangular ones.

***Oh dear. I can’t call her that.  a) she isn”t ‘BIG’ but b) Beautiful Italian Girlfriend is rapidly becoming a bit of a typoful.

December 25, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. I’d have expected the candied chestnuts actually, I haven’t come across them in syrup, but then this is Norfolk and I don’t know much anyway. Assuming you bought those, I should think they’d work all right, maybe add a bit more liquid if it seems to need it?

    Hope you all have a lovely time together.

    Comment by Z | December 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’da expected a long laugh at even being asked if I knew what they were–but to be asked if we have them around these parts?

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

    HAhahaHAHAHAHAHAhahahahaha

    Heck, I didn’t even know what a chestnut LOOKED like until a few years back.
    I mean, I knew they were suppose to be roasted over and open fire…….jack frost nipping at your nose…..lalalalala

    Ummmm……yeah, well……I’ll ask himself if he knows what it is and where to find ’em.
    *laughing*
    I don’t wanna be laughin’ all by my lonesome yaknow!

    I’m going to believe your holiday has been lovely, being surrounded by all those wonders–how could it not be!
    Happy Boxing day!
    And blessed New Year.

    *hugs*

    Comment by Mel | December 27, 2011 | Reply

  3. Well we did do something like that Z but it can’t exactly be said to have worked. Everyone ate it and then agreed that it really wasn’t brilliant. No problem, everything else was fabulous and everyone was happy. Hope you had a lovely Christmas too 🙂

    Was lovely Mel and there was laughing here too 🙂
    ((((((((Mel))))))))))
    xx

    Comment by letouttoplay | December 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

