Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Three days on the run*-*****

(Isn’t that a line from a song?)

And now I’m back to normal, more or less, whatever that is.  Barring a slight preoccupation with a  bit of a challenge casually thrown at me by Christopher.  One day, I may produce something in response that will satisfy me .  The simple answer** didn’t work  – even after googling some fifteen anagram sites***.  But that’s ok.  As I told someone the other day, if I get the answer to a single crossword clue I feel quite excited.  Similarly with quizzes, I know very little that everyone else knows, however, I do have a small number of obscure facts tucked away in some cave inside my head – the routes to which are becoming increasingly faint and overgrown as time goes by – and occasionally one of those facts will turn up as a quiz question.  This makes me very happy.

My husband on the other hand is a fount of knowledge about a considerable number of things, in fact he’s a serious anorak****.  Actually, I think he’s proud of it.

If you want to know about thatch, old barns, bricks, stamps, canals, 60’s music, folk music, guitar heroes, famous murderers, steam trains, wood or the dates when historical things happened he’s your man.  Usually.  And also, he knows a surprising number of things about obscure little islands and countries and Indian states – because they had commemorative stamps.  It’s a constant delight to me to ask him questions which might, remotely, be connected to any of these things and get an answer – also of course, ever so useful when writing a blog.  On some subjects, he’s better than google.  He’s not bad on current affairs either, since he tends to remember what he’s just read in the newspaper.  It makes him a brilliant quiz partner.  And, he can do arithmetic in his head.

This was going to be a short post, basically saying I can’t think of an answer to Christopher’s suggestion.  As you may have noticed, I have the same problem with my virtual mouth as I have just had with my innards.   Sorry.  Have some flowers fresh from the canalside.

Now I’m returning to my puzzle.  I’ve almost made a complete clue – it took me hours.

*run, trot, belly(no that doesn’t work), gallop, etc.  Feel free to insert city names, song titles, limericks (scatological) as you please.  I suddenly thought – perhaps in places like Delhi, they speak of the London Lurch.  Or the Cambridge Canter. Or maybe लंदन रन  (I’ve no idea how this actually translates – hope it isn’t offensive in any way.  It looks as if the words might have sort of alliterative or rhyming endings?).  Of course the simple way to satisfy curiosity on the subject of  how the rest of the world describes the effects of drinking foreign water would be to ask my doctor next week.  His name, accent and appearance strongly suggest that he will know at least one Asian language and he is after all, a doctor.

**One of the problems I’ve always had with problems is that when the simple approach doesn’t immediately give a solution, I tend to give up on good old fashioned thought and leap straight into the realms of imagination and invent an alternative.  Rarely producing a solution but often learning a lot about why other people have taken the trouble to learn the regular methods.

***What a fantastic discovery.  I could amble through crossword sites for hours discovering weird and wonderful configurations in the English vocabulary.  I did.  I particularly liked Faffle – to stammer.

****I’m not sure but I think this term may have derived from the wearing of the garment by train-spotters in  the fifties?  sixties?

*****Oh no, it was Five Days On the Road.

September 19, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Oh dear. I’m sorry. I really didn’t mean to cause trouble. And now I can only faffle out the admission that at first I read your title as ‘Three days on the rum’ and looked forward to a lively account of Yo-ho-hoism and messages in bottles e.g. THIS BOTTLE IS EMPTY PLEASE REFILL on England’s canals. And then having read a most entertaining post I wondered if you had ever had any of your photos made into jigsaws, while there was talk of puzzles?

    Comment by Christopher | September 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. Did one of my bottles make it to France then Christopher?
    Jigsaw puzzles – now there’s a thought. Much easier than the other kind, still I’m sure the excercise is doing my brain good.

    Comment by letouttoplay | September 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. *singing*
    I pulled out of Pittsburgh rolling down the Eastern seaboard
    I’ve got my diesel wound up and she’s running like never before
    There’s a speed zone ahead on right and I ain’t see a cop all night
    Six days on the road and now I’m gonna make it home tonight

    🙂

    I gotcha covered on the Six Days–not so sure about the five though…….

    Himself and yours would have a grand time–he’s the keeper of facts. I know about people….I don’t know squat past that. *sigh* But I know ear worm songs!

    LOL

    Absolutely NO help with anagrams.
    No help on the numbery puzzle thingies either.
    Heck, I can’t even do a simple one with animals we bought in hopes of helping me DO the numbery ones.
    No such luck……though I do have good times lining up the turtles and fishies!

    JUST sayin’.

    But I like pretty pictures?

    I think it’s an awful lot to know just that much……LOL

    Comment by Mel | September 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. Oh! Six days! Oh well, at least I knew it was some days.
    I can imagine our two having a great time together Mel while we played with turtles and fishes : )
    Anyway, I’ve got Mrs Middle here for a day so I can give her brain a bit of excercise on the puzzle front. I’m currently at the stage where I’m wondering if a ‘sounds like’ ‘looks like’ ‘first letter is like’ will be acceptable!

    Comment by letouttoplay | September 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. I’m remembering “Band on the Run”. Paul McCartney and Wings. I also know “Six Days on the Road”. A fantastic rockabilly country cross genre song made famous by numerous performers here in the US, but written by a duo named Carl Montgomery and Earl Green.
    So, Six Days on the Run then?
    I don’t do crossword puzzles at all. I just don’t think of things the way they expect you to.
    That Christopher is a trouble maker, isn’t he? He comes over to my place and accuses me of debauchery as many, (most), of my readers seem to be women. (It’s jealousy I tell you.)
    Beautiful Fall weather here. How’s yours?

    Peace

    Comment by Spadoman | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  6. Been out and about enjoying the same weather ‘Man. Isn’t it wonderful.
    It’s fortunate that Christopher is about as much fun as trouble, isn’t it : )

    Comment by letouttoplay | October 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

