Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

music, bread, life, camping ….

Anyway, we did a gig tonight (that would be last Saturday so by the time you read this it’l be last week) for a wedding.   Apart from one or two slightly disorganised moments it went quite well but it is becoming apparent that the leaving of our old concertina player has acted as if somebody took the brakes off.  So when we played a lovely tune called ‘Galopede’ , they did.  Galopie jalopied.

Thing is, Jan and I always played it more as a Canterpede, kind of lolloping and easy – it’s nice to have a break from the fast and furious in between dances and it’s a pretty tune with a pastoral lilt.  But Max and Barney just got their bits between their teeth and it went much like a downhill, runaway cart.    So if Sara and the boys want to play it as a kind of heavy Centipede they can.  I shall go and take a fag break.  If they won’t behave, I shan’t play it again. So there! And pfffth!   (Because I, of course, would have played it much slower and more thoughtfully.  See!)

Right, abandoning my daily weekly grouch, I’m a very chirpy bunny today.  My lovely friend the gardener came and approved my planting plan as well as adding  some suggestions like a Hamamelis (Witch hazel) and Winter Box to give lovely scent and evergreen leaves in Winter and Spring.  Coo!  Oh I am so excited!!!

Tomorrow I’m going to go and look round a garden centre and maybe order some plants to collect in time for her next visit.  And also to buy a new sleeping bag.  We have the Annual Morris Dancing Festival coming up any minute. What I mostly will celebrate is having a new sleeping bag and being warm in the tent at night.  Oh and I’ll be getting sausages and bacon for hundreds of breakfasts in the camp site.

And here is the outlook for the next few hours.  Um – unsettled I hope.

And for Christopher, since I failed on the salad front, some bread – fresh but maybe a little too settled.

See you all soon.  Probably when I come home for the night to attend music group, enjoy a hot shower and play with the computer before heading back to the  wonderfully pastoral meadows and charming, cotswold stone-walled village lanes, at a leisurely pace – perhaps arriving just in time to watch the campers soundly beaten at an Aunt Sally match with the Villager’s team.  Or maybe to help gather up escaped tents and shelter in the local pubs from the weather.

May 26, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

8 Comments »

  1. You’re a brave woman. I mean, sleeping bag and tent?

    You know me!
    Show me the hotel with swan towels. LOL WITH pretty petals wouldn’t hurt! 🙂

    Enjoy your adventure! And I’ll wait patiently for those cool photos.
    Patiently…..LOLOL Yeah, right!

    Comment by Mel | May 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Thing is Mel, we’ve been doing the sleeping bag tent thing once a year for thirty seven years. We’ve got like one of those dinosaur thingies that doesn’t know when it’s fallen over.
      The body says this is getting a bit much for you, you poor old thing, but the brain says ok, lets get moving it’s time to do this again.
      (I might consider introducing sculptured towels with flower petals next year though that might disturb the system a bit)

      Comment by letouttoplay | May 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. Oh! Thank you! My own special loaf photo! Feed me till I want no more!

    (And I expect you were singing ‘I knead thee, how I knead thee’ as you prepared it?

    Happy camping!

    Comment by Christopher | May 28, 2011 | Reply

    • I certainly was Christopher. But I was singing to the bread making machine – Oh, you guessed already?
      Because my ignorance is large and my curiosity even larger, I looked up this song and was impressed that there were translations into both Russian and Albanian.
      Oddly, no bread was mentioned.

      Comment by letouttoplay | May 31, 2011 | Reply

  3. Where do you take all these amazing photos of trees and landscapes? Are you near Pangbourne…?

    Comment by rosie | June 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Oddly enough Rosie, yes, quite near – about 5 miles. (Somewhere you know?)
      The thing is, in Berkshire, you can walk for miles through woods and fields, just crossing roads here and there. And you can stand with your back to a housing estate and see nothing but trees even though a hundred yards further on there is more housing.
      It’s a fertile area, packed with roads and houses and estates and the M4 and the A34 but lots of fields and woods all around them.

      Comment by letouttoplay | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  4. I think you mentioned Bucklebury in a recent post.

    Comment by rosie | June 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I did Rosie – see Christopher’s recent post on Summer is icumen in.

      Comment by letouttoplay | June 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

