Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Tree? Plastic? Paper?

I’m feeling a bit dim this morning.  I do most mornings though, so I’m quite safe saying this even if I don’t post it for several days.

Post now!  There’s a thing.  A lot of it about at this time of year.  Just now, a parcel arrived and I could hear the delivery man struggling to get it in the mail box.  After a bit, he rang the bell.  Shortly after that the postman arrived and dropped a whole lot more stuff in the box.  (his load was only envelopes whereas the first one was delivering a floppy parcel)

So all these parcels are arriving – mostly presents I’ve ordered for people.  It’s quite fun getting them (especially as one or two of the parcels contain things I couldn’t resist buying for myself).  And naturally, a lot of Christmas cards.  What’s not arriving is the parcel of Christmas cards I ordered from Redbubble even though they sent me a rather coy message recently about how they’d lovingly and tenderly wrapped and parceled my cards after carefully printing them (how careful do you have to be to press a few buttons and churn out a few photos?  And what exactly is loving and tender about plunking some stuff in a couple of bags, sticking an address label on the front and handing it over to the ‘shipping’ department?)

Also, since we regularly get letters sent to persons unknown at this address, I sometimes worry that my cards will be going somewhere else.  Hmm.

I may have to struggle with my own printer and make some address labels for us – by the time these cards arrive it’ll be getting late!

For years and years, in spite of heaps and carpets of pine needles, of the impossibility of reaching the switch to turn off the lights and the sheer inconvenience of having a large prickly thing filling most of the sitting room, Barney has insisted on having a BIG natural Christmas tree.   I have become accustomed or resigned or something.

Suddenly, this year, he’s wondering if life would be easier with a plastic one.  Well that’s a no-brainer!  But do we want a plastic (small, fold-away, ready lit, non-shedding) one?  We have three real ones in the garden, one of which died last year.  Eventually we gave up on rooted ones since it seemed wasteful to throw them away and we need a little pine forest in the garden like we need another big hole to dig.  (Not).  We still have last year’s rootless one, lurking around in the undergrowth.

And, infuriatingly I am suddenly reluctant to give up the pleasure of a living, slightly pine scented (unmanageably large, needle shedding, prickly, inconvenient)  tree for Christmas.  I must be nuts?

Oh well, I shall wrestle with Outlook and Word and attempt to produce labels which don’t need editing.  By the time I’ve done that I shall be nuts and I will be able to view plastic simplicity with approval.  It’s not as though there aren’t a few trees still around out there and the outdoor ones come with sunsets and moons attached.

 

December 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. I’m with you on the struggles of a real tree. . . but surely it has to be a real tree. . . for some reason I always have a real tree, despite the needles and the shedding and the recylcling

    one of my happiest childhood memories was/is coming home late at night (must have ben teenage memories!!) to a quiet house, being the one who walked into a dark sitting room with fire embers in the grate, being the one who turned off the lights on the tree. . .

    . . .my mother used to throw a handful of needles on the fire before she closed the sitting room door when she went up to bed, and there’s nothing like that smell

    and, however good the fake trees look, they never have that dense dense darkness near the trunk thru which one can see a tiny light twinkling, do they

    I’d rather have the fuss of the needles and the struggle to get the tree in the pot and and and and the smell of the pine and the dense dense darkness, than a fake tree

    I remember one year when my mother bought a tree that didn’t drop needles – it didn’t smell the same!

    one of my friends bought a fake tree last year, it looks very cool and trendy – but it doesn’t have that basic earthy rawness of a real tree, doesn’t make one feel as if one has been out walking in a forest, it’s not “real”; for me having a fake tree is like being in a department store, not a home

    but that’s just my two pennies worth!

    Well I do agree Inukshuk but himself has just set off to buy plastic. Sad! But I reckon I could nip out from time to time and grab a handful of needles from the trees outside for the fire 🙂 And then we can be grateful for the years when we did have live trees.

    Comment by english inukshuk | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh.

    I hated giving up the real tree at the work site. I grew up with real trees every holiday. I ignored the fire marshal as long as I could. *sigh*
    Though I will give that the trees we do have are gorgeous ones–even if they’re not real.

    People tell me as long as you cover ’em with ornaments, you can’t tell.
    HA.
    I try that every year and still lament the loss of a real tree’s glory.

    Too late Mel! the thing is done and installed. And to be honest, it doesn’t look bad to two shortsighted old things : ) Oddly enough there are a few pine needles still lurking in there from last year. I really don’t know how they clung to the carpet all year! Anyway, I shall collect some bits of tree from outside and throw them on the fire as a token pine smell : )

    Comment by Mel | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thank you, I think. For various reasons mostly connected with Christmas travel (which turned out to be abortive) we weren’t going to have a tree this year for the first time since Wolves won the FA cup, but in the light of your musings I’ve changed my mind and within the hour I shall go out to the jungle behind our house where non-plastic Christmas trees grow like weeds and come by one, taking care to drag it home with the grain.

    Our jungle has no Christmas trees in it Christopher, or I might have (sent Barney out to have) done the same.
    Anyway I’m delighted that my capitulation has encouraged at least one other to cling to tradition.
    And I’m so glad you are both safe after your journey!

    Comment by Christopher | December 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

