Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Today I was lucky

Also, I exercised extremely good judgement otherwise, I might have been in someone else’s photo of this.

So there I was, heading toward Oxford to visit NGB and her Mum and Dad and the traffic ahead of me was slowing down, brake lights showing for a fair distance ahead.  I slowed down too and then thought that’s not enough,  so slowed down a bit more.  Then I glanced in my rear view mirror and thought that big yellow lorry behind me is still coming up a bit fast.   Checked the queue in front and checked the lorry behind again and suddenly realised.  He hasn’t seen it.  He’s not got time to stop.  Has he? Hasn’t he? Ooooohno he really hasn’t.  So I pushed my thumb vaguely at the horn and veered towards the the nearside lane.

Big yellow lorry ploughed into the car that had just been in front of me.

Quite a lot of other stuff happened – the nearside lane wasn’t empty but the lorry driver in that lane had also realised that the big yellow guy hadn’t got his eye on the ball and therefore was able to give me room between him and the queue.  The cars who had just been in front of me skewed into the side of my car as the yellow lorry hit them and I had what seemed like a tiny eternity, in which to wonder if I’d made it or if the next thing would be cars all overturning and flung in every direction, as I briefly bounced between the traffic queue and the lorry on my left.

The yellow lorry guy had realised, not quite soon enough, that he was heading towards a slowing queue and he had braked (I heard his brakes squeal) and so only three cars were piled up.  Only two people were hurt, one guy trapped in his car and one who seemed ok at the time but later needed a neck brace and had to lie down till the ambulance came.  They were both conscious and so I’m hoping that they’ll both be ok.  It could have been so much worse.

You hear about this kind of accident all the time and every time the traffic ahead slows down, I for one, check my rearview mirror because there might be a lorry behind me.  Not noticing.  You don’t always notice the queue ahead straight away and there have been times when I’ve had to brake a bit sharpish but these big lorries don’t have any sharpish in their repertoire.

Accidents hey!  Those things that happen which no one was expecting.

I am a grateful, undamaged and lucky person.

And later after Barney came to fetch me and the insurance people had sent a recovery vehicle to take my slightly battered car away we passed this view on the Ridgeway and I thought, all over again, how lucky I am.

Sleep well.  Since, as far as I know, no one was killed in my place, I will.

August 27, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Goodness! How extraordinarily lucky. Just reading it makes the heart go pit-a-pat. What must it have been like for you?

    My heart also Christopher! You see these things on the news and you imagine them happening to you but it’s a whole ‘nother ball game to see it thundering up behind you in real life.

    Comment by Christopher | August 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. Both relieved and proud mum.

    Your presence of mind to react, potentially saving lives by giving him a little more time and alerting others and your presence of heart to worry about other people afterwards.

    Proud, relieved and a bit shaken!

    Sweetheart! Thank you!
    Well you always said I was a good driver and that’s always been something to live up to. So take a little credit for being so perspicacious and giving me an occasional prod towards staying on the ball : )
    xxxx … xxxxxxx

    Comment by Adam | August 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. omgosh…..I’m so grateful.
    Like Christopher, I felt my heart sink.
    I’m so glad you’re okay–and I do hope the others are as well.

    Holy moly, Mig. I’m so grateful there’s a happy ending here!

    ((((((((( Mig )))))))))))

    Me too Mel and I heard today that both the injured drivers are out of hospital, not unscathed but not as bad as it could have been for either of them!

    Comment by Mel | August 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. good grief

    my heart rate has accelerated just reading this and my breathing’s gone all wonky

    but, I don’t know why I’m rattling on about me

    THANK GOODNESS YOU ARE ALRIGHT

    big hugs and many many kisses

    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX to you too and hugs dear I : )
    (tough as old boots, me : )

    Comment by I, Like The View | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  5. a rather beautiful and wonderful pair of boots, that would have to be

    (-:

    LOL: ) And thank you.
    xxxxxxxx

    Comment by I, Like The View | August 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

