Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Buttons and bracelets and too many things at once.

I spent an hour this morning trying to make a bracelet out of old buttons.  It’s not going very well.  I can do earrings easily enough,  since they just hang in small bunches, but making buttons lie neatly* along a thread isn’t so easy.  And you need a lot of them.  I have a very nice blue bracelet made of buttons and beads and shiny bits and bobs but that was made by some hardworking, extremely skilled, underpaid person in a far off country and sold to me by Accessorize.  I believe Monsoon justify their enormous prices by claiming to be good to their workers but though Accessorize seems to be associated with them, I find it hard to believe that they can be paying their workers so well.  Those people do bracelets much better than I have, so far.

Anyway, it’s back to the drawing board here.  In fact a drawing board might be a good idea but for the moment it’s a conceptual drawing board only, as I really must stop playing with pretty stuff and get the washing out and the left overs put away and find the will forms**

As I may have mentioned before, I’m not a proper woman in that /i can’t do two things at once.  (For instance ‘shift’  ‘i’, apparently).  In  fact as I get older and perhaps because I’ve got wiser (?***) I sometimes can’t even do one thing at once.  So shopping yesterday for dinner tonight and also for lunch tomorrow, as I have a very nice friend coming over, led to all kinds of confusion.  For instance, I bought a ham to cook for tonight and also, some cooked ham for sandwiches tomorrow**** (a tentative plan to take to the hills with cameras, soup and sanis).

Then I decided not to get any root veg for tonight.  Don’t ask me why.  There was something in my head but clearly it wasn’t tonight’s dinner.  Shame, because a bit of celeriac would have been good in the soup as well as roasted with the potatoes tonight.  And it would have been nice to have had carrots.

I completely ignored the fact that Barney used up all the broad beans yesterday and really, the main reason for eating roast ham is to have broad beans and parsley sauce with it. (And of course to have cold ham for sandwiches the following week.  Oh well, yes, it is quite nice to eat).  He used up all the parsley too.  Did I get any?  No but I got basil to add to the soup.*****

I did get some very dinky little pink potatoes.  Well they will make a nice potato salad to have with the sanis tomorrow.  The whole bag?  Um.  I love potato salad.  I can eat it till it comes out of my ears.  Perhaps I will.

Anyway, in despair about my inability to shop for two meals at the same time I wrote out  a timetable for the cooking of this one.  I’m just a bit concerned that, now I needn’t think about what I have to do next, I may get my blogging overcooked and my ham mistyped.  (so far so good).

So, today dawned (I didn’t notice that bit but it’s a good start) and some time later I was awoken by a certain person who, once again, had forgotten to tell me he needed me to take him down to the garage to deliver a vehicle for an MOT).  Oh and sorry, I forgot to say that today was the day after the day where I started this post.

Then I rushed about a bit making sanis and heating soup and trying to decide how best to pack it all up.  then I hung the washing out and carefully put my umbrella with the going out pile.  Added a rainjacket for good measure.  It’s a well known fact that if you take your brolly out with you, it won’t rain.  On the other hand, if you hang the washing out it will rain.  So which will win today I wonder?  Washing or brolly.

Yay!  Brolly!!  (And in the end I forgot to take it.)

*Spell check thinks neatle is a real word!  I wonder what it thinks it means.

**No, we aren’t planning to die just yet but we’ve been promising each other to write wills for the last twenty years.  It really is time we actually did it!  It’s not as though we have anything enormously complicated to leave anyone.  Apart form my Accessorize bracelets of course.

***Sooooo much wisdom in here, there’s no more room for thought, see.

****The ham, no problem.  I’m going to find out what frozen, cooked ham is like.

*****Thank heavens for gardening neighbours, I have permission to raid their parsley patch whenever I need.  I wonder about the carrots but I’m not sure if they’re ready and I wouldn’t want the neighbours to come back to an invasion of carrot fly.******

*****Yes, they’re away, again!

August 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I bought a button bracelet on holiday! I thought it was made with a thin leather cord, but it turned out to be elastic. . .

    I hope your bracelet worked out!

    I cooked some broad beans on Sunday, the bit I loved best was popping them out of the pods (when I was in Waitrose, they had some really lovely looking potatoes – is that where you got yours for your salad?)

    love love love the tree trunks (on your flkr thing in the sidebar) and really love the one of the reflection of the tunnel in the canal water, making a circle of bricks – wonderful!

    (-:

    XXX

    Bracelet taking a few days off due to lack of drawing board I.
    I love popping pods, beans, peas, all of them. Er, that is all of them I suppose. And the potatoes did come from Waitrose and taste as good as they look : )
    Yes, I love the the circle of bricks effect : ) I was putting photos into sets and I felt sure there was one like that from the last but one holiday.
    It’s so nice to have you back : )

    Comment by I, Like The View | August 17, 2010 | Reply

    • lovely to be here. catching up with everyone’s summers. . .

      . . .not that you’d think it was summer given the rain last night!!

      XXXXXX

      Impressive rain! I quite liked it : )
      And sunny today, sort of.
      xxxxxxx

      Comment by I, Like The View | August 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. It’s a great pity the broad beans disappeared so irretrievably because otherwise you could have made a bracelet out of them. If you had strung peas for pearls, I wonder what you might suggest for earrings?

    With pea pearls Christopher? Emerald mint leaves of course : ) (And then I could also have a pink potato pendant to wear with them)

    Comment by Christopher | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. NOW I remember why I don’t wear jewelry!! 😉

    You’re a brave soul and a creative piece of work in progress….sorta…..as it falls together. LOL
    I dare say himself is the same way–goes shopping and returns only to discover he needed three other things on the list to do this evening’s meal.
    Do I mind?
    Ohhhhhh noooooo…..as long as I’m not having to do any of it, it’s good!

    But I do love buttons!
    🙂

    Oh if you’re not having to do any of it Mel, that’s best! I like not having to do any of it : )
    Buttons are good. Especially when somebody else has put them together!

    Comment by Mel | August 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

