Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Been and Gone. Back any minute.

I’m not normally a fan of lieder or indeed classical singing but eternal thanks to Christopher for sending me on the trail which led here.   It’s a quite gorgeous piece,  performance and recording.  Also, short : )

Meanwhile, I have acquired a book called 1421, the Year China Discovered the World.  Well that’s got to be worth a read hasn’t it?  I’ll let you know.

The sun is shining for all it’s worth just now as it sinks below the horizon and the clouds are white and fluffy and the general ambience is golden.  This is delightful but, ever the carping and grumbling one, I was hoping for PINK.  Sky blue or any other variety.  As tomorrow, we camp, perchance to get rained on.

I really ought to be packing or organising or something.  Instead, I’m, well… here.

Well I was.  Then we camped a bit and it didn’t rain, then we woke up next morning and it did rain.  Then I came home for Music Group for an afternoon (leaving all the other happy campers in the rain) and it isn’t raining now and here I am again.  Only for a little while but I’m hoping it won’t rain again when I go back.

Journeys in between rain.  Hope you’re in between rain too.

*There were people like that, way back then.

May 29, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed Morgen, which I’ve known and loved since I was about 18, but wondering for the first time what impelled someone with the name of John Henry Mackay to write in German, I looked him up on Wikipedia only to find that his life’s mission, his energetic promotion and justification of male homosexuality in Germany, was overtaken by Hitler’s rise to power. Not an easy ride by any means.

    I hadn’t realised what the time scale meant Christopher. (Very bad at dates, me). Quite a remarkable man really.

    Comment by Christopher | May 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m just shivering at the thought of camping in the rain (with no coffee?!?!?!?)

    hope you found some sunshine

    XXX

    Oh yes thank you I, we had sunshine and there is a very nice coffee shop in Bampton so it was quite good 🙂

    Comment by I, Like The View | May 30, 2010 | Reply

  3. In the rain?!

    NO way.
    Not even in the sunshine, tyvm! I’ll take a hotel room and join you for the bonfire. 🙂

    Ohhhhhh….and I like the places Christopher sent you! 🙂
    Very cool!

    Lovely music Mel : )
    I must admit, this was nearly the year when I decided that we ought to B&B instead of cmping, but old habits die hard and then the sun came out. *shrug* What can you do?

    Comment by Mel | June 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

