Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Caught flat-footed

I always knew these wretched feet would be a problem one day (along with the equally wretched teeth).

So I spent the weekend hobbling around like an old lady and wondering if I needed a walking stick.  then wincing at every particularly nice chewy thing I got stuck into (or which got stuck into my teeth – take your pick – I forgot to take mine).

What with all the wincing and hobbling, my knee nearly gave out and then my back started whinging and twinging and then it was time to come home.  (and consider elbows and RSI)

It really is time to adjust my lifestyle to fit my age.  ie. a little less indulgence and excess and a little more discipline.  I’ve always said if I wanted to get fitter and lighter all I’d need to do is cut out (some of) the booze and fags and tuck a bit less food into the bit in the middle.  Oh and exercise a little more (more than not at all that is).  So, hey! this is my chance to prove myself right.

So first thing, on the way home, we stopped at the pub to meet some friends and had a few drinks and then went home and made a curry which was a bit too big for two and not quite worth saving any for the freezer.  So we ate it all.

Um.  Then my feet still hurt and anyway the dog hadn’t been fetched from kennels yet so there wasn’t any real incentive to go for even a very short walk.

Am I not trying hard enough I wonder?

I’d better got to bed and think some positive thoughts.  Better take some paracetamol too – it’s much easier to be positive if you don’t hurt.

However, I have been distracted by the possibilities of commercial exploitation of Thames Chinese Mitten Crabs.

Wouldn’t you be?

The sun is out!  It’s promising to be out for the next three days!  Barney’s inadvertently taken my little flask and left me his big one!  I shall need to stay out for hours in order to use it all up and I’m going hobbling  in search of lakes and spring buds.

Have a glorious sunny day!

April 8, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. get a bike!
    enjoy your day Mig
    x

    *giggle*
    I was thinking of gentle walks ziggi! It’s all relative see.
    I enjoyed my day thank you : )

    Comment by Linda | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. I keep working on himself–who has limited activity and everything seemingly hurts.

    I know the pain(s), I just let him whine and live vicariously through his whinings–saving my own for the things that I really can’t change. LOL It’s good in theory, eh?

    Oh, the sacrifices to have to take the bigger flask. *laughing* I do hope the adventure was a profitable one–with lots of photo opportunities and bright sunshine and warmth for you.

    For the record–I oughta be doing some of the same things you spoke to. Especially the exercise bit…but it interferes with important things–like critter watching from the patio swing. Can’t have THAT don’tchaknow! 😉

    I understand entirely the patio/exercise dilemma Mel. And also the vicarious whines.

    Comment by Mel | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. it was a lovely warm and sunny day here, hope it was glorious for you

    (-:

    those mitten crabs are a bugger, aren’t they – I can’t believe that there aren’t any natural predators* yet, shame the eels don’t find them tasty

    (*birds seem to like them)

    I need to think about fitness too. . . and I need to go to the dentist. . . and I need to visit the doctor because of a doggy toe. . . I’ll take your piece here as a huge prompt!!!

    (-:

    XXX

    It was divinely warm and bright and sunny dear I, thank you.
    I wonder how many more unsuitable emigrants there are in our rivers. I shall be keeping an eye out for mitten crabs when we’re on the Thames on our holiday. I wonder what they look like.

    Comment by I, Like The View | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. dodgy toe, not doggy toe!!

    (-;

    Mine are definitely doggy.
    (And dodgy 🙂

    Comment by I, Like The View | April 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

