Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Chickens and Rachmaninov

So how come whenever the children visit, I end up signed into all kinds of places with all sorts of other people’s names?  Me, I’d sign myself out if I was on someone else’s computer.  It’s just tidier isn’t it?

I was just thinking about chicken stories.  I was reminded about one I read a while ago involving chickens living on the central reservation on a freeway.  They, of course had a very good reason for crossing the road and it wasn’t to get to the other side.  It was so they could develop their own civilisation in peace, discover quantam physics and leave by ftl space-ship for a better world.

Naturally the local council, the county authorities,  and passing drivers all wanted to remove the possibly hazardous chickens from the reservation and to dismantle the curious structures that appeared to have sprung up there with no obvious manufacturing source.  Obviously it didn’t occur to anyone that the chickens were responsible for creating objects that seemed to have some very strange properties – too strange in fact for the scientists to understand but interesting enough for the FBI and other authoritative bodies to get slightly excited about.

I may have the details wildly screwed up but I think I remember the gist of it.  It was a good story.

A quick search for chicken stories led me to a illion google entries about chickens living on the freeway.   Also to this informative and valuable article by the late, revered Douglas Adams but no sign of the story above.

Meanwhile, family discussions on an order of service for Great Grandad’s funeral led me to spend some time listening to Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, the Ave Maria and Rachmaninov’s 2nd  Piano Concerto.  This led to an evening admiring Rachmaninov’s tremendous scope and lyricism.  I went from concerto to vespers to prelude and back to more vespers and quite frankly, I could have gone on listening to his work all night.   Wow!

But first I went for a walk in Winterbourne

and later the sun went down.

And now I’m tired so sleep well all

February 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. oh mig

    I have such mixed feelings

    music can soothe the soul, I hope it does yours at this time

    love and hugs

    XX

    Comment by I, Like The View | February 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Not only soothes the soul dear I but is a link to memories and shared enjoyments. The music for the service has all been chosen because we believed it meant something special to him, it’s good to have those links and consoling to remember that we both loved a huge range of music. Something special that I had in common with him : )
      ((((((((((((( you too )))))))))))))
      xxx

      Comment by letouttoplay | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. I rarely ‘borrow’ another’s computer–and if I do, I sign out of wherever I wander……and I’m picky about where I wander on another’s computer. Business only, I guess.

    Must be that ‘personal space’ issue I have goin’ on…LOL

    In the meantime–hugs and prayers and healing thoughts to you and yours. I hope the wander abouts and the kiddos presence and the music helps some with the hole in your heart.

    ((((((((((( Mig )))))))))))

    Comment by Mel | February 22, 2010 | Reply

    • All those things help Mel, they’re a connection. Being the detached sort of person I am, I need to go looking for feelings. Then when I’ve found them, I need chickens!
      Oof, yes, the hole is huge but the person who filled it would have laughed too.
      xxx

      Comment by letouttoplay | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. I often fall into music when everything else seems
    to much.
    I can hear Thomas Barquee’s Rasa playing in my head while I look at the last photo…

    Comment by Sorrow | February 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Every now and then, music picks me up and fills my mind and lets me go when my mind is calm again Sorrow.
      The most simple or the most complex music, if it’s any good, speaks to you in a way that breaks barriers and reaches in as nothing else can.

      Comment by letouttoplay | February 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

