Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Beethoven, don’t roll over just yet

My fiddle teacher wants me to play something at the end of term concert.  Please bear in mind that though I went though a period of intensive practice a few(lot of) years ago I now only play about once a week and that rather randomly.  So I was a trifle disconcerted when she suggested the Beethoven Romance No 2 in G major!

However, nothing ventured and all that.  So we plodded and stumbled my way through it a couple of times.  Then, just out of, um, a vague need to know what the real thing sounds like (I kow the tune but I can never remember how all the very fast, very high twiddly bits ought to sound because I never play them up to speed and when real players do them I don’t recognise all the notes because they make them sound so easy) I looked it up and found this.

Nice isn’t it.

I wonder if I could attach little ladders to my violin for my fingers to run up and down?

It’s snowing.  Just a bit.  And there’s a man outside pulling bits of metal fencing out of the hedge opposite.  He must be getting awfully cold hands.  I have a feeling he’s the man to whom I should be giving the water meter reading but somehow I feel that he might not want that just now.  Anyway, reading the water meter involves emptying a whole cupboard and removing the shelf and then crawling into it with a torch, a notepad and pen and a cobweb removing implement.  Indeed, every year I wonder if this will be the year I just get stuck in there for good. One year, the cat got stuck in there and had to be prodded out backwards with a cat removing implement pushed at her from the cupboard under the sink (and she didn’t even have the sense to read the meter while she was there).  If I get stuck it will be more a question of fastening ropes and haulage implements to my rear end and pulling!

Then there’s the contents of the cupboard.  Kitchen gadgets and useful plastic containers.  Lots and lots and lots of those.  I just can’t bear to throw them away.  Stacks of used soup cartons, and stacks of lids.  Lots of really neat little takeaway boxes and other boxes and sunflower spread boxes and more heaps of lids.  Isn’t it a shame that plastic packaging comes in so many shapes and sizes that the lids aren’t interchangeable?  Every so often I throw out all the ones I can’t find lids for.  Shortly afterwards I find the lids  – for which there are no longer matching pots or boxes.

I may be gone some time.

February 8, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Wow…..there’s trees and beautiful hills and snow behind that last shelf.
    Yeah, I’d crawl in and go on an adventure and not come back if that was inside MY cupboard–kinda like the magic wardrobe! 🙂

    Our water meter sits outside and I never see the poor reader. 😦
    He must be a lonely fella, dontchathink?

    Comment by Mel | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Poor water meter reader! I do think it might take a while to find the meter in my cupboard though : )

      Comment by letouttoplay | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. It’s a whole different spin on the tales of Narnia…
    LOL
    through the plastic cupboard..
    ~laughing~

    Comment by Sorrow | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • *Laughing too* I was thinking of Captain Oates to be honest – but Narnia just crept in, albeit through the kitchen 🙂

      Comment by letouttoplay | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  3. your cupboard is like a small art installation!

    Comment by I, Like The View | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Very cramped I : ) Still, I could consider a regular small exhibition of things to look for in the kitchen.

      Comment by letouttoplay | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  4. A lovely piece, the Beethoven, and it lies under the fingers reasonably well. Go for it – I’m sure you’ll do it credit. You can always slow up the fiddly bits with ‘artistic’ rubato!

    Comment by Christopher Campbell-Howes | February 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi! How nice to see you here Christopher.
      It is lovely and you’ve almost convinced me.
      Rubato, hmm, could work : )

      Comment by letouttoplay | February 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

