Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Weddings and weather and other things

Today (That’s yesterday now) we were invited to the wedding of Middle Girl’s best friend and it was, for me, a very special wedding because I know that if it hadn’t been for our daughter, the bride might not have been alive today.  Some years ago, when they were  only teenagers, middle girl was one of the first to realise that her friend had a very serious, life-threatening illness and was a constant, loyal and committed support to her friend through several subsequent years of difficult treatment and family troubles.

She also recognised that her friend needed a break sometimes from her family.   Not because there was any lack of love or caring but perhaps because there was too much.  So she would bring her here to relax a bit.  Such trust and such commitment. And today I felt very proud to see this sweet and beautiful girl, healthy, married and surviving and to know that  our girl was  instrumental in that survival if not essential to it.

Anyway, they couldn’t have chosen a more spectacularly beautiful day for the wedding.  A charming, country church, sitting in snow blanketed fields with the sun shining – it was also spectacularly cold but no one minded : )

On the home front, Barney has been driven by snowy imprisonment to paint the bathroom.  Isn’t that wonderful.  (note the absence of joyful exclamation marks).  I can only be thankful that after completing the ceiling and one wall he’s decided he has to go to the pub.  Even though he leaves a powerful smell of paint (non-smelling variety apparently – I can only suppose that the advertisers had never spent an afternoon in close proximity to it) behind him.

Not that he’s been driving me mad or anything like that.  It’s just that one gets used to absence making the heart grow fonder and constant presence can be a little wearing.  That’s all.

And I’m loving the snow but I’m getting tired of lugging all the extra layers around with me.  Tights, socks, leg-warmers, cardigans.  It all slows me down.  My snow boots are lovely but it takes twenty minutes to get them on and all properly tucked in.  When I’m fully togged up for cold weather, I feel as if I’m a hundred years old (or a michelin – er – person)!

On the other hand the dog is loving it a lot.  He leaps through the drifts, dolphin-wise, and barks happily at strange looking shadows of ordinary things.

The animals are all convinced that the world has shrunk.  They sneak out the back door and deposit their necessaries in an area which is about ten feet square, just outside the door.  Not a problem at the moment, as it’s all frozen.  We’ll have to watch our steps when it thaws though.

There’s no more room in the inn.  I mean bin.  The rubbish people assure us (automatically when you you phone them) that they are doing their best to catch up with the backlog (That’s us).  The backlog is out by the front gate in a not exactly hopeful heap.  Some of it is suspended on the garage door in black plastic sacks but they can catch up with that next week.  Maybe.

~

Today, the vet came.  Little tabby Mandu died very quietly, cuddled in my arms and apart from a small protest  when the injection was given, made no fuss and purred a bit just before she died.

Then, lest one should a) become mawkish and b) forget important things about animals one has known, she leaked on me.

This reminded me of the time when Youngest helped me transport her to the vet, carrying the indignant small cat on her lap.  Mandu made few comments on that occasion, but suddenly, Youngest uttered an outraged cry.

“She pee’d on me!!!”

“well they do that under stress”

Yes but….She pee’d on me!!!!”

Nonetheless, I leaked quite a lot while I was tidying away her things and putting her in a suitable place to wait till the ground is soft enough for a burial.  And there is an empty Mandu shaped space on the floor by the dresser where she spent most of her last few months.

~

Good night.

January 11, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. oh

    can one say RIP to a cat? I hope so, and I hope she’s at peace

    and you’ll find some. . .

    one of our (ten) cats, one of the (six) kittens) peed all over Nancy’s drama costume at half ten last night. . . I told her to ask her friends if they’d ever heard of the “the dog ate my homework” excuse. . . didn’t go down very well

    what a glorious setting for a wedding! and kudos to your girl for being a good friend when one was needed

    hope B remembers to come back from the pub and finish off the bathroom. . . I’ve some walls that need a coat or two. . . no? oh well!

    the snow has totally gone here, not even clush on the pavements! please get all kitted up, Michi-lady, and take some more photos for us starved of white blanket Londoners!

    XXXXXX

    One did, thank you dear I.
    Have to laugh over the drama : ) You know how they say, never work with children and animals?
    I shall attempt to get out in the snow tomorrow – it’s beginning to melt a little and it’s not quite so bitterly cold though they tell us there’s more on the way! Where’s it all coming from??!!
    xxxxx

    Comment by I, Like The View | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. For such relatively small things, their absence leaves such huge gaps. I’m still sometimes surprised not to see a rather crabby black thing perched on the arm of one of the sofas. Dear little Mandu, x.

    Huge gaps Thursday! Mind, Tosca is doing her best to fill all of them – I suspect she’s relishing being top cat!
    xxx

    Comment by Thursday | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. Oh Mig…. ((((((( Mig ))))))

    I do hope for peace–for the both of you….all of you.
    There’s just gonna be a hole in the heart for a bit. Doing right things isn’t always easy–they’re still right.
    That’s pretty evident by the wedding you were graced to be able to attend. Isn’t it awesome to see how it all plays out? Oh, I hope for a long, blessed union for the gal and her fella. And I’m grateful she has the haven and friendships she has…..as I’m sure she is.

    How wonderful.
    And what a gorgeous setting for a wedding.

    k…well, then…..
    When Barney’s done with the bathroom AND ILTV’s room or two–I do have a kitchen that needs redone…

    Just sayin’….. 😉

    (((((((((((( Mig )))))))))))))

    Thank you dear Mel, it is in the natural order of things after all and could have been much worse.
    (((((((((Mel)))))))))))))
    I shall tell Barney he could have a new job (with travel thrown in 🙂 Not sure he’d be up for it though.
    Anyway, he’s happy now it’s done and he can have a bath without counting stains and mould patches on the ceiling.
    xxx

    Comment by Mel | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m so sorry about Mandu. It’s awful loosing a pet and really hard to stay with them while they pass. I’ve never regretted staying with Rex while he passed though. We owe them that.
    I LOVE the church and your photo. How beautiful. and your daughter sounds like a wonderful person.
    I GET the heart growing fonder.. My whole routine (of doing not much) is all messed up on Paul’s days off.

    I’m so glad I got the vet to come here and spared her a horrid car journey Betty. And since it had to be done, it was a great comfort to me, at least, to be able to cuddle her while she died.

    It is a bit stressful having the routine (mine’s the same – not doing too much) all thrown out isn’t it : ) And then when he gets back to work I suppose I shall miss having him around! Why do I feel I can’t win? Better give in gracefully : )

    Comment by Betty | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  5. there isn’t any snow at all here now. . . pavements are dry, not much wind. . . I don’t know where yours came from, but I wish we’d had a little more of it!

    XXX

    Still coming! Shall I blow it in your direction 🙂

    Comment by I, Like The View | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  6. Bless her,
    The daughter the friend the kitty and you.
    Smile
    That was a much needed sweet read..
    Thanks miss Mig

    Thank you Sorrow 🙂

    Comment by Sorrow | January 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

