Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Oh it’s cold and wet and grey

Further, my rebellious tooth has puffed up again and I can’t think what to ask for for my birthday.  (Tomorrow.  A bit late then to be thinking).   Nor where to go out for dinner.  I’m getting fed up with the contact lenses.  Can’t be bothered to put them in.  The cats are demanding food (yes yes in a  minute), the dog says he needs to go out (again?) and Barney’s come home because it’s wet and windy where he’s working at the moment.  And his little car is letting water in somewhere. (I told him he’d need to cover it in the winter).   The kitchen is full of stuff that needs to be sorted.  The heaps that were tidied away for the canal evening now all need to be put back – somewhere, somehow, tidily. I can’t think what to cook tonight.  I’m in the middle of no less than four books which aren’t inspiring me at all* and I don’t seem to have a nice cheerful little one to slot in.  I’m not hungry. (So I don’t feel like eating, doing my teeth – ouch – putting warm feet on and waking up properly).  I’ve got a dentist’s appointment in a week – shall I wait till then with the puffy-up tooth or go and see him now – ugh!   I’ve got the lenses appointment on Thursday – shall I go and see them now and whinge about the odd eyes or shall I wait till then?

It’s just that sort of day!

However, sunny spells are forecast for this afternoon.  Perhaps that will liven things up a bit.  Meanwhile I feel much better for having whinged a lot.  Oh!  and we desperately need a new washing machine.  (the one we have is still pouring water all over the floor with every wash.  The utility room will look much nicer without soggy newspapers sticking out from underneath it and it would be nice to have a machine with a handwash setting).  This won’t quite qualify as retail therapy but having a look won’t hurt : )

What?  Oh no, that’s not a washing machine, that’s a castle 🙂

Ooh!  Look at the time!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME  : )

*The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchells

(and I think there’s another one hanging around upstairs)

I think I’ve overdone the reading recently and the lenses with reading glasses thing isn’t working at all well.

December 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!!!!

    hope you have some wonderful surprises today!!!

    XXXXX

    now, those books:

    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchells
    rather strangely, this has been on a bookshelf for a very long time and I started it a few days ago (not really inspired, bu am plodding thru)

    The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
    first read it in my 20s and then a couple of years ago reread it (wasn’t inspired)

    One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    I have quite liked GGM, but the last thing I tried to get thru of his was an autobiography (I gave up!)

    hope you have lots of lovely presents and cards to unwrap today!!! happy birthday to you!!!

    XXX

    I think I quite like the GGM too I, but it’s very long and though it frequently and interestingly strains the suspension of disbelief, it’s a bit lugubrious.
    I’m only reading the Unbearable lightness because it’s the theme for a photo competition. I have to say, half way through, I’m none the wiser about how to find a photo to fit the theme!
    And I bought the Cloud Atlas because it’s one of a list of lots of books that lots of people haven’t read! Me and Middle Girl have read most of the list and I had an idea that it might be fun to read them all! Wrong so far – I hope you enjoy it!
    (On the birthday front, I’m postponing it)

    Comment by I, Like The View | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!

    Congrats on another successful circuit on Earth around the Sun! Well done!

    I haven’t read any of those.

    I feel sure that *Alles gute zum gerurtstag* doesn’t exactly mention orbits, dear shot, but I thoroughly enjoyed my own pidgin translation of the one and the lovely idea of the other.
    But what does zum mean?
    The books – heavy philosophy with lots of sex, a rather turgid account of a man travelling a long time ago and a somewhat incoherent tale of life in a mountainous (Spanish? I need to check that) backwater, also a very long time ago.
    xxx

    Comment by 'Shot | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. Happy happy birthday
    Happy happy birthday!!
    HAPPY happy birthday to youuuUUUuuuu!!!

    🙂

    I hope the day’s full of wondrous fun things!
    And cake!
    Cake’s good…..with gooey frosting and pretty decorations…..and candles! 🙂

    Happy happy HAPPY birthday to you!!!!

    Thank you dear Mel – could you do it again in a few days – I’m postponing birthday and cake (especially cake) on account of a small (but bulging) tooth issue!

    Comment by Mel | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ohhhhhh……we’ll do it over and over and over again!

    <– likes birthday MONTHS!

    *nodding*

    Yay! 🙂 (((((( Mel ))))))

    Comment by Mel | December 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

