Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

I’ve got a temporary dog

Sitting Youngest’s large spaniel puppy.  It – she’s all bendy and floppy and fluffy and much too big, noisy and boisterous for Nutmeg’s elderly tastes.  Also a bit big etc etc for mine.  She’s a bit like a black and white Tigger with Eyore ears (only fluffy).

I took them both for a walk in the field and they pleated their leads (I didn’t know you could do that with only two leads – ah, but they used me as the third thread – I got pleated too).   It’s really quite hard to unpleat in the dark, especially if your torch is in your pocket.

Then they drank each other’s water and lay down in each other’s beds.  Then they came and asked me please to sort out their beds and talk to them, only them, each, first.

Then they skidded round the kitchen and fell over.  Nutmeg didn’t like this at all.

Then I had to take them out again and this time I kept them on short leads so Jess hauled me zigzag across the road and Nutmeg got very tired and plodded along far behind.  I was in the middle stretched (levi-wise) between two leads)  I’m glad to report that if dogs were wild horses I’d be as strong as a pair of levis.

Now they’re both in their own beds and Jess keeps coming over to say, if you aren’t taking me back to my proper people, could you put the light out so I can forget that I’m far from home in a strange place.  And flops down so she can wiggle her back on the floor.

That’s not Jess with Nutmeg – it’ s Wendy.

DSC_9869-1

Dogs are exhausting.  I’m going to bed.  Sleep well.

October 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. I hope you had a wonderful sleep

    XX

    I did thank you I 🙂
    xx

    Comment by I, Like The View | October 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. I hope the pup finally got some sleep…..and you too, of course. *laughing* I can see the pleating!

    If I ever need a ‘dragon sitter’ I’ll know where to look.
    So how do you feel about sending crickets to their death? LOL
    Yeah……stick with pleatings! 😉

    Dragons! Good for keeping warm? Probably not at this yime of year. thanks Mel, but you’re right it’s best to stick to pleatings 🙂

    Comment by Mel | October 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh that’s so funny; We’ve had three dogs and our home and yard look it! Hondo went to his new family this weekend and it’s quieted down quite a bit. Love the photo.

    They do settle down eventually Betty 🙂 Jess is still very young – much too young to be so strong in my opinion!

    Comment by Betty | October 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

