Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Where we went on our holidays

I got Barney to tell me this slowly so I could write it down because I thought somebody ought to know.  You are the favoured ones to receive this fascinating information.

We dipped our hull into a surprising total of 12 waterways (not including bits we retraced), 183 miles, 300 locks and about 8 tunnels (Barney hasn’t counted them apparently)  And more bridges than I like to think about.  Also 3 or 4 aqueducts. (apparently there were lots and lots of aqueducts but most of them so small we didn’t notice them).

The Worcester  and Birmingham canal

The River Severn

The Stafford and Worcester canal

The Stourbridge canal

The Dudley No 1 canal (or 2. I can’t remember)

The Old main Line of the Birmingham Canal Navigation.

The Stafford and Worcester canal.

The Trent and Mersey canal (Navigation?).

The Coventry canal

The Birmingham and Fazeley canal

The Digbeth branch of the Birmingham and Fazeley canal

The Grand Union canal

The Stratford on Avon Canal (down to Stratford and back up again)

The Worcester and Birmingham canal.

And I took 7,045 photos.  (Is that surprising?) Also, since I am in a statistical mood, I had filled my first 16 gig memory card half way through day 6.

Now, the various crew members are wanting to know when I’ll have all the photos ready so we can all get together and go glassy eyed over them!  I’m already glassy eyed and I’m only halfway through day, er… 4  Oops!  It takes longer to go through them than it does to take them obviously.   I’d better have some more coffee and get back to work.

Just took a brief break though, to look for a recipe for dinner tonight.  I came upon this site which has wonderful sounding Elizabethan recipes.  I may decide to do an Elizabethan feast for the next family party (cooked according to the original recipes rather than the modern ‘redactions’.  What a funny word!

Anyway, I’m trying to get the photos processed a bit faster so not having much time for anything else.

DSC_0330-1

Mwah !

So I’ll leave you with a watery kiss (look closer : ) and some bubbles

xxx

October 9, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Wow oh wow oh wow!
    I see it!
    Brilliant……absolutely brilliant……..

    16gigs?
    🙂
    What a happy adventure–first you adventure on the water, then you adventure about the water.
    Oh, you know me–if some is good……MORE is better!

    *happy sigh*
    I’ve so missed the awesomeness of the photos I find here…..

    🙂 Dear Mel. Adventures are good 🙂

    Comment by Mel | October 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. gorgeous gorgeous photo!!! and so many lovely locks

    XXX

    Comment by I, Like The View | October 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

