Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

India-Glimpses

Once, the palaces had curtains across the doors but now they are all open to the breezes.  There are more archways and screens and doorways than you could imagine all revealing tantalising tiny views of greater things beyond.

I shall tantalise : ) (hopefully)

The Jama Maschid Mosque in Delhi

dsc_1492-1

Jama Maschid – one of the people’s entrances (as opposed to the tourists entrance : )

dsc_1503-1

Humayan’s Tomb in Delhi

dsc_1673-1

The gardens of humayan’s Tomb

dsc_1688-1

Um, what was it called?  Oh yes, The Taj Mahal (as if you didn’t know : )

dsc_2270-1

One of the bits at the side of the Taj looking at the gardens

dsc_2318-1

Fatephur Sikri – the ruined city (I think)

dsc_2388-1

The Amber fort at Jaipur.  Screens for the ladies of the Harem to look out through.

dsc_3094-1

More Amber fort.  A view into the mirror worked inner sanctum for the harem.

dsc_3111-1

Looking out through the Ladies screens at the Amber Fort

dsc_3140-1

Humayans tomb again (it got out of place when I uploaded : )

dsc_1666-1

I haven’t worked through all the photos of the actual AFTs – there were many!  And probably more glimpses too but I get distracted by other pics as I’m wandering through the memories.  It’s a constant amazement.  We saw so many AFTs I forgot half of them and thank heavens I kept some sort of diary or I’d have no idea which of these was which!

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. That is the most fun thing to do, get lost in the memories..
    🙂
    these are wonderful…
    makes me want to go to India,
    okay
    Almost
    want to go to India..
    LOL

    In a way, the relative peace and quiet inside all these gorgeous palaces and tombs and temples made the wildly busy frenetic outside more acceptable Sorrow. I’m glad you like the pics anyway : )

    Comment by Sorrow | April 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. hey! amazing pictures! india is truely beautiful.. its culture.. architecture… people! EVERYTHING ABOUT INDIA IS JUST SO AWESOME isnt it?

    Hi alwaysindian – Isn’t it just 🙂

    Comment by alwaysindian | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. *happy sigh*

    Yup…me a good wander about an old church/temple is a very peacefilled, ‘connectedness’ thing. I do love the quietness and that ‘feel’ it brings to me.

    Very impressive…..all of them. And that’s without opening them to their full size.
    (which is what I’m now about to do)

    🙂

    The designs of places of worship are nearly always beautiful Mel don’t you think? Whatever the architects personally believed, they always knew that beauty would be acceptable to the faithful and to their sponsors. And if the beauty of the design incorporated references to the relevant faith and deity, why then all the better : ) And it’s hard to deny that there is a feel of gentleness and acceptance in these places as well as the intention to inspire awe (be it of a deity or of a more earthly creator!)

    Comment by Mel | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. Okay…..so…some of that intricate stuff is tile (I’m assuming made especially by local artisans) and some of it’s painted. How in the world do they ever keep it up …… I mean someone must go back and redo that painting, surely. Oh, but it’s beautiful and so serene looking, even with the crowds of people.
    And were shoes allowed in the temples?

    Oh….and I really like the garden/gate shot at the Taj. It’s more pink than I knew! Did I know it was pink? LOL

    Ty, ty, ty!
    What a lovely vacation….*sigh*

    Hand carved screens, hand carved semi precious stones, inlaid into sandstone and marble Mel.
    The pink sandstone bits at the Taj are at the sides of the main Tomb which is all white marble and inlaid stones. That’s next : )
    And Fatephur Sikri is painted and carved and The Palace at Jaipur is also painted though there are some gates which are all inlay and amazing.

    Comment by Mel | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. oh

    *sigh*

    how totally wonderful

    (-:

    I especially like the gardens of Humayan’s tomb – but they are all beautiful

    and so evocative!

    Once seen never forgotten I : ) I feel so lucky to have been there.

    Comment by I, Like The View | April 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

