Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Morning all : )

It’s still sunny (was it shining all night?)

So yesterday, and the day before, I went out in search of things that would fit the theme ‘strength in numbers’

I thought – Rope!  Bound to be a boat moored down by the canal with a rope.

Uh uh.  No boats (What’s up with them all?  Lovely sunny Sunday after noon – no boats?)

I trailed along the river bank looking for roots.  All well dug into the earth and hiding (very sensible really)

So how about a row of fence posts?  Plenty of fences but all falling over.  Not quite what I had in mind.

Or two trees leaning against each other?  Lots and lots of trees, all leaning as far away from each other as possible – indeed so far that some of them had fallen over.  Hmm.  Not quite strong enough then.

Trees looked like a good possibility though as there are lots and lots of woods around here, so yesterday I abandoned the canal and went off to the woods.  Plenty of trees and nice little paths and banks and shadows and stuff.  But no trees leaning on each other. (Except a few that had fallen down on top of other trees).

Eventually I got tired (and it was time to make dinner) so I gave up.  Extricated myself from a potentially interesting shot amongst the hedgerow along the football pitch, detoured to investigate a tunnel between some extraordinarily prickly holly,  paused to admire a blackbird on the far side of the football pitch, turned round and almost fell over because there they were, right behind me, looking over my shoulder!

2

2

See that road?  I walked along it half an hour earlier.  None so blind eh?  *

I’m going out – see you later.

* Come to think of it, I drove past them twice on Sunday.**

**maybe they they weren’t there earlier – maybe they only just arrived as I was about to leave!

March 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. They’re huggin’! How cool is that?

    Strength in numbers….should I ask what the quest is for/about? (nosy like that, I am!)

    I’m sure they were playing hide and seek with you first time down the path.
    Trees are like that, yaknow! 😉

    Ya know, they always talk about trees/flowers killing each other off when they’re growing/planted too close. These two seem alive and well to me! (and I’m likin’ the lichen!)

    A friend of ours who’s a pro gardener told me to plant three birch trees in the same hole Mel and then they’d grow into a really interesting tree with three trunks. We tried it but they all got killed by frost their first year. Nor sure what that proves unless it’s that I really do have brown fingers : )

    It’s for a Flickr theme. I thought it was going to knock em all for six but it’s getting a lot of criticism so far! Well you win some you lose some. *Shrug* (I don’t mind because it was fun looking for the trees : )

    Comment by Mel | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. what a sumptuous photo. . .

    isn’t it odd sometimes how we look and look but never find that certian something we had in mind. . .

    . . .and then – there it is!

    (-:

    Just goes to show I there’s someone/thing looking out for us most of the time 🙂 And alternatively, god helps those who help themselves and even more alternatively, if you don’t look you don’t get and to confuse the issue a little more, um, all things come to them what wait as long as they do the waiting a bit pro-actively.

    Comment by I, Like The View | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. Clump birches! Yup–we have them, but I thought they came that way. LOL Guess I shoulda asked the sister who does that horiculture stuff way better than I ever will.

    Ah well–can’t wow ’em with every photo, I guess.
    Though….come to think of it, you do with me!

    🙂

    Big hugs Mel 🙂 I’m visiting tonight 🙂

    Comment by Mel | March 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ents! defnibly

    I do believe you’re right ziggi : )

    Comment by ziggi | March 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

