Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

soup and fish and chips please

Last night we had the delightful experience of having dinner with our recently wedded couple.  They made us a delicious Cacciatore and some wonderful, crusty beer bread with parfait for starters.  During the course of a fairly hilarious evening we invented a name for a pop group – Cats on Fire – and then googled them.  And they exist.  A rather sweet group of four Swedish (?) boys with something of a retro rock style.

And Barney did the deaf old Dad thing for all he was worth, producing rampant mispronunciations and chinese whisper type utterances with complete conviction.  It was all extremely funny and silly and very nice indeed 🙂

And the night before, the stars were out in glowing brilliance.  I tried very hard to get a photo of them but only produced a muddy fuzzle effect.  However, some time later this year, I may be going to The Isle of Sky for a week with a group of really good photographers!!!!  I shall ask them how to do stars.  And other things 🙂

I notice that the weather forecast for the next several days (including all those that we plan to spend on the boat) is for rain and then a bit more rain and then a lot of rain.  Did I get my wires crossed?  Did I offend someone up there?  It’s not St Swithin’s week or anything like that is it?

Well today’s shopping included a lot of soup.  Always good to hand a cup of hot soup up to the person shrouded in rain clothes and peering out from under a dripping hood, especially if you are one of the persons who has opted not to do any steering :)*

So now I’m hoping to take a lot of heavily atmospheric photos, using borrowed tripod, an umbrella and goggles. Actually, joking apart, this sounds like quite a lot of fun.  I’m also hoping for fish and chips.  Don’t know why, I just had this pleasant vision of sitting around in a steamy cabin with golden crispy stuff and greasy newspapers**.

And I’ve decided to diet.  I’m fed up with my burgeoning (not to say, fast vanishing) waistline and my feet are fed up with carrying me around. And it’s ever so difficult and stressful getting in and out of the car with extra winter layers and extra fatty inches.  (Don’t worry about the fish and chips – as far as I can tell, all foods are guaranteed to help you lose weight when they are part of a calorie controlled diet***)

Speaking of food, it’s time I made dinner.  One big one and one small one 🙂

still hoping for something like this

still hoping for something like this

Anyway, I wish you all a happy weekend.  A satisfying weekend even.  See you when I get back.  Keep well and look after all of yourselves ok?

*Or lock operating or indeed anything that makes photography, restfulness and keeping dry, difficult.

**Not that you ever see fish and chips wrapped in newspaper any more 😦

*** I’m not actually planning to count calories.  I’m pretty sure that I eat so much more than enough that all I need to do is make the plate look less full to make quite a difference.****

****Of course it doesn’t help if you later have a smaller plate with several little heaps of cheese on it.   Even if you skip the plate and just eat it straight from the cheese box.  This dieting thing may require a bit more practice?

November 28, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Star photos……*dreamy sigh*

    Gosh….and the little boat photo with the reflection isn’t good enough?!

    It’s amazing!
    <– might haffta nab it to put on the desktop!

    🙂
    With permission, of course.

    Diets suck, Mig.
    But I’m thinkin’ you already knew that.

    Star photos……..wow…….that’ll be somethin’…..

    Permission of course dear Mel 🙂 any time.
    Stars my be a while. I know it’s possible, I just haven’t worked out what combination of knobble turning will get the result I want 🙂
    (diet on hold during the weekend – it just isn’t feasible to eat less when you’re all doing three hearty meals a day!)

    Comment by Mel | November 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh, but I do hope you’re having a marvelous time of it………

    Did! 🙂
    🙂

    Comment by Mel | November 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. HB2U
    HB2U
    HBDMiiiiiiiiiig
    HB2U

    (((you)))

    ((((((((((you too))))))))))))

    Comment by Rimshot | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. Sounds like a wonderful Time with the Newlyweds.. We get treated to delicious Mexican (authentic) from our son-in-law. Very nice. Hope your boat trip isn’t too ruined by the rain. Have a wonderful trip.

    Trip not at all ruined thank you Betty and quite wonderful. (Maybe I didn’t take quite as many pics as usual 🙂

    Comment by Betty Flocken | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. I always end up really hungry when I read about your day. . . now I fancy some fish and chips!

    😉

    I missed this because I thought you’d gone away already – and now you’re back!

    XXX

    We didn’t get the fish and chips in the end I but it didn’t seem to matter 🙂 But thanks for reminding me 🙂 Maybe we’ll have some tonight.

    Comment by I, Like The View | December 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

