Letouttoplay

Life, photos but not the universe

Dreaming

When I played the violin a lot (as opposed to five minutes before a lesson and during the lesson and at gigs) I used to fall asleep to the sound of unwritten music in my head.  Eventually I had to start writing it down which is why I bought a computer (which is another story).

when I was learning to drive in a car that was losing third gear, I half-dreamed of the exact process required to double de-clutch (you won’t understand this unless you are old enough to have driven cars that did that sort of thing – I’m not sure it works on modern cars)

When, even longer ago, I rode ponies and indeed owned a small, argumentative and sulky, liver chestnut, Dartmoor cross with a touch of Arab (only observable when he lifted his tail which he did with truly Arabian panache and usually when he was about to decline a halter)…um…oh yes, then.  Then, I fell asleep to  images of softly thudding through the woods and across the moors or wonderful half passes and amazingly un-bumpy leaps over brightly painted poles.  Pricked ears and gleaming shoulders passed before my closed eyes.

When I was very small, I dreamt of flying.  Down the stairs.  Naturally I tried it.  Um.  It didn’t quite work.

Now, delicate friezes of trees parade across hillsides and autumn leaves dance, held momentarily by a lens against beautifully soft dark backgrounds.  Water ripples and reflects and white escarpments frame black, flashing wings.  As I fall asleep.

So where are they in the daylight?  The music got written, the pony got to win gymkhana events and even learnt to do a passable half pass (once).  I learnt to drive without third gear.

But the picture dreams?  Where can I find them?  I want those pictures – the ones I’ve seen when half-asleep and dreaming.  The camera can only record what is really there and I need to find those places so I can make pictures of them.

D’you think they’re like the flying dream?

It’s a hard one.

deaming

dreaming

leaf dream

falling leaf dream

Colours

Colours

Today, I retraced a route that I drove along yesterday because I thought the light was a bit better.  Yesterday I earmarked some places that might be good pictures.

Of course, when you stop every ten minutes and run backwards and forwards taking pictures it takes a lot longer.  The light faded before I’d got halfway!  So tomorrow I may have to do the rest.

And, I really really must get into the habit of using the tripod!!!!  Tripods are good.  I repeat – GOOD!  they are not a nuisance and a pain to lug around.  Right?  Right.  (Because then you can keep the camera still and take long exposures that will not have lots of fuzz and noise in them.  Dammit!)

Now I am going to attach the camera to said not-a-pain tripod and pack my swimming and fiddle lesson gear and get ready to hurtle out very very early (sunrise is at 7.15ish – not so bad really).  Then I shall go to bed all eager to fall asleep and wake up early.  Um.  maybe.

G’Night 🙂

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Even if you can’t find those pictures in the day, you have them before you fall asleep.

    🙂 It’s true Thursday but I still want everything, cake, eat it and cream too 🙂

    Comment by Thursday | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Beautiful photos. Just beautiful

    Comment by Betty Flocken | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. *happy sigh*

    Beautiful…..

    And the only dreams I remember–aren’t worthy of being remembered……though apparently my brain thinks they are.

    LEAF!!!!!!

    Usually I forget everything my head does while I’m asleep Mel. It’s the half asleep stuff I remember.
    Lots of leafs around at the moment – nice 🙂

    Comment by Mel | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. YAY Snow! Beauteeful!

    I can’t wait ’til life imitates THAT art.

    C’mon snow!

    Comment by Rimmy | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. ERM…I suppose that ME dreaming…when I biggified the picture I saw that it isn’t snow at all.

    Nice that you thought it was snow, er….Rimmy?
    ((((((((((you))))))))))) (I knew it was you really 🙂
    (Sorry, not ignoring the new you, I just didn’t notice the thing that said I had comments waiting to be approved.)

    Comment by Rimmy | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  6. wow – I’ve never had such beautiful dreams – what do you take?! 🙂

    A large dose of wishful thinking after a day of obsessive practice usually does the job ziggi 🙂

    Comment by ziggi | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  7. beautiful thoughts

    beautiful dreams

    one day they will come to your reality, in the meantime the photographs you take and share with us let me day dream of wonderful places. . .

    thank you

    (-:

    ((((((((( I )))))))))) What a nice thought 🙂

    Comment by I, Like The View | November 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

